Updating iOS with jailbreak

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jimmyauditore98, Nov 22, 2016.

  1. jimmyauditore98 macrumors newbie

    jimmyauditore98

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    Myanmar
    #1
    So there's this thing I don't understand. I've jailbreak my device, if I update to latest iOS version, it'll remove my tweaks and Cydia. So it's technically unjailbreaking? So by updating iOS, my jailbreak will be gone. Is it the same as restoring from iTunes to unjailbreak or they're not the same?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    No, you should restore to fully remove the JB.
    An update from a JB ios sometime will get stuck or error out or will overwrite certain things and not fully restore to stock.
     
  3. jimmyauditore98 thread starter macrumors newbie

    jimmyauditore98

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    Myanmar
    #3
    Oh okay :) thanks for explaining.
    Btw is there a 10.1.1 jb out there ?
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    No, there is no JB available yet for ios 10.
     
  5. jimmyauditore98 thread starter macrumors newbie

    jimmyauditore98

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    Myanmar
    #5
    Oh ok
     
  6. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #6
    Just for real life reference, here is the kind of thing AJ is meaning…

    Late last year there were a few people who had iOS 8 jailbreaks. These people simply updated to iOS 9 when it was released and did not restore to it.

    When the first iOS 9 jailbreak dropped they jailbroke and then tried to install tweaks. THAT is when this caught up with them. They still had the remains of the previous iOS 8 jailbreak hanging around and Cydia would not allow any tweak installs without removal of the parts of the previous jailbreak that were still present.

    But Cydia also would not allow the removal of the pieces of the past jailbreak. So, these people were stuck.

    It meant that they had to restore. For some of them who had bad timing on this the restore they had to do was to a version of iOS that was not jailbreakable (at the time). Hence they lost their jailbreak.

    All because they chose to update instead of restoring way back when iOS 9 was released.

    ALWAYS restore to the latest version when you are jailbroken. NEVER just update to it.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Yep, what Erik said.
    It becomes a mess and a real pain if you dont do it the right way.
     
  8. jimmyauditore98 thread starter macrumors newbie

    jimmyauditore98

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    Myanmar
    #8
    Oh I understand now, thanks. It's kinda a pain to restore here in our country. Cuz the download file size is 2-3 GB, it'll cost a fortune. And I don't have a wifi...
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Where do you live.
    Do you pay per GB to have home internet access?
     
  10. jimmyauditore98 thread starter macrumors newbie

    jimmyauditore98

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    Myanmar
    #10
    In Myanmar, we mostly use Data Plan here.5-10$ per GB
     
  11. kalirob99 macrumors 68000

    kalirob99

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #11
    What a rip off. :confused:
     
  12. jimmyauditore98 thread starter macrumors newbie

    jimmyauditore98

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    Myanmar
    #12
    Your profile pic is just like "what a rip off"
     
  13. jimmyauditore98 thread starter macrumors newbie

    jimmyauditore98

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    Myanmar
    #13
    btw how much data usage it takes to jb? how much mb/gb?
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    The JB itself and cydia take up very little storage space on your iphone.
    What you install after that from cydia its up to the particular user.
     
  15. jimmyauditore98 thread starter macrumors newbie

    jimmyauditore98

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    Myanmar
    #15
    No i mean the Data usage..how much cellular data/wifi data does it use to jb? :3
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Usually none.
    Most of the JB programs you just download and run on your computer with the iphone plugged in via usb.
    The program installs the JB files on your phone.
    In some cases in the past you could do the JB without using a computer at all with various userland exploits by visiting jailbreakme.com (My Fav JB) :)
    Then if you're connected to wifi or cellular data the website downloads and installs the data needed to your device and again the amount of data used is very little usually less than 100mb's.
     
  17. jimmyauditore98 thread starter macrumors newbie

    jimmyauditore98

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    Myanmar
    #17
    Thank you for answering ^^ u da best!
     
  18. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #18
    You need to download it on your PC/Mac. You can't do it straight from your phone. You need to restore using iTunes. Don't press restore all in your iPhone. You will mess it up.

    Maybe an Internet cafe?
     
  19. jimmyauditore98 thread starter macrumors newbie

    jimmyauditore98

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    Myanmar
    #19
    Yes I know I can't do on phone only :3 but 9.3.3 can tho. Where's the restore all button in iPhone ? :3
     
  20. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #20
    Go to Starbucks, McDonalds, or a friends house. If you are not in a place that has a Starbucks, McDonalds, or have no friends, I am sure that there is SOMEWHERE that has free Wifi available nearby.
     
  21. jimmyauditore98 thread starter macrumors newbie

    jimmyauditore98

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Location:
    Myanmar
    #21
    No Starbucks, McDonalds here :3. And yeah I have no friends. There's a free wifi place tho, but the connection is like 5-20kb per second.
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.

Share This Page