Updating jailbreak

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by twezzyfbaby, May 2, 2012.

  1. twezzyfbaby macrumors regular

    twezzyfbaby

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Location:
    columbus ohio
    #1
    Im currently jailbroken wit the resnow 0.9.10b3 and i seen that theres been like tons of updates since then i think its up to 0.9.10b5c. What i need to know is whats the best way to run the newest jailbreak without losing everything on my phone?
     
  2. Twenty Two macrumors newbie

    Twenty Two

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    #2
    I would just back your phone up. Just in case, even if u find the safest way.
     
  3. twezzyfbaby thread starter macrumors regular

    twezzyfbaby

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Location:
    columbus ohio
    #3
    So just back it up and run the newest version? Or is there something eles that needs to be done?
     
  4. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

    ZCherub

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    GA, USA
    #4
    I'm currently jailbroken with Redsn0w 0.9.10b3 and I have seen that there have been many updates since then. I think it's up to 0.9.10b5c. What I need to know is what's the best way to run the newest jailbreak without losing everything on my phone?

    ... Fixed that for you.

    You need to download the latest Redsn0w (check iClarified.com), then restore your phone with the appropriate firmware (again, iClarified.com), then re-jailbreak w/ Redsn0w.

    Unless you're updating your firmware, there is absolutely no point in doing this (unless you just get a kick out of saying that you jailbroke with the LATEST Redsn0w...).
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Go to cydia and do the updates if any.
    That's all.
    There's no need to rejailbreak using a new version of redsnow.
    If its not broke dont try to fix it. Leave it alone unless you want to update to a newer firmware and then JB.
     
  6. twezzyfbaby thread starter macrumors regular

    twezzyfbaby

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Location:
    columbus ohio
    #6
    You have great point there!! I have been updating things in cydia but i must have updated something that doesnt get along with some other things cause i keep going into safe mode and i just thought that might fix that. But thanks alot for the info guys
     
  7. ZCherub, May 2, 2012
    Last edited: May 2, 2012

    ZCherub macrumors 6502a

    ZCherub

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    GA, USA
    #7
    Go back into Cydia & remove the packages that you recently installed (you can probably leave the packages that were installed without you having the safe mode problem). That will probably solve the issue w/out a retore/re-JB. Good luck.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  9. twezzyfbaby thread starter macrumors regular

    twezzyfbaby

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Location:
    columbus ohio
    #9
    I have been updating things in cydia and thats the problem i am having i dont remember what it was that i updated. Silly me for not looking at them

    ----------

    Been there done that like five times i even left my phone off for a few hours nothing
     
  10. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

    ZCherub

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    GA, USA
    #10
    Yeah - going forward, keep a running log of what you update/install so you can reverse the changes if need be. Good luck.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    I agree with the above.
    Seems to be a conflict with an update not playing nice with other addons you have.
    I'd start removing things one by one to find the issue.
     
  12. twezzyfbaby thread starter macrumors regular

    twezzyfbaby

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Location:
    columbus ohio
    #12
    Those were my thoughts also. Thats gonna take awhile doing it one by one but thanks for the help guys
     
  13. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #13
    It does help to keep track of what you're changing. My phone was flying in the stratosphere and all of the sudden, one update after another of NCSettings started a lot of crash issues. I deleted the app, all went back to stable. I'm still giving NCSettings a shot after each update (dev is busting ass to make it right) because I love the versatility and small NC footprint. But when my phone acts up, I know where to look, everything else has passed teh test of time and stability.:)
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Well said.
    It helps if you dont have 60+ packages installed too.
    Keep it simple and install things that you need and use.
     

Share This Page