iPhone Updating jailbroken iPhone 3G

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Ginger Refuge, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. Ginger Refuge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    #1
    I just dug out my old iPhone 3G which was jailbroken some years ago and currently has the version 2.2(5G77) - please don't judge me, I know this is old.
    I need to get this phone back into action for a temporary measure as I am moving and have to give up my iPhone 4.
    Can I update the version? Is there is a chance I might brick the phone? How do I update a jailbroken phone(I think it is jailbroken - it has cydia on it)?
     
  2. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #2
  3. Sine Qua Non macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #3
    4.2.1 is the latest version for the iPhone 3G, but 3.1.3 runs much quicker if you don't need iOS 4 or above to run a certain app.

    To get to 4.2.1 just plug your phone into your computer and hit 'Update' in iTunes.

    Make sure you aren't using a software unlock before upgrading. You will lose your software unlockable (with ultrasn0w) baseband if you upgrade to stock 4.2.1.
     
  4. sh4z, Jan 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2013

    sh4z macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    #4
    Hi There, I recently JB my iPhone 3G
    Firmware: 4.2.1
    Baseband: 05.15.04-5.8

    Cydia is installed wifi functioning sim detected but constantly searching. I suppose this is normal for a unsupported sim...

    After a bit of reading the iPad Baseband gets the phone unlocked but you lose GPS functionality. most of the posts about this are dated 2010/2011. So I am just looking to clarify.

    From what I have gathered there is now a downgrade option from the iPad baseband? I have used the latest version of RS available (afaik) v0.9.15b3

    All that is left is to upgrade to iPad BB and downgrade?
    I would like the phone unlocked and gps functioning properly.
     
  5. jfox00 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    #5
    Since your phone is older, I would consider going through AT&T directly for an iPhone unlock (no charge). They unlock older iPhones that we're in good standing. I did that with my iPhone 3G. Google it, and you can do it online.
     
  6. sh4z, Jan 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2013

    sh4z macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    #6
    Hi Thanks for the Reply! wish it was that simple lol@AT&T,

    It's locked to AU/vodaphone so not sure how US/AT&T could help. would be nice though.

    Anyway, doesn't seem like the baseband gets updated at all even when the option is ticked. JB/Activate worked fine though ^^

    Trying this http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1482885

    --- Update #1
    Older version of RS worked tried v0.9.6b6 - Worked first time. Attempting the downgrade baseband for unlock now.

    --- Update #2
    RS0.9.15b3 BB Downgrade left me with Blank IMEI,BB! lol shouldn't the latest software work the best??(Not in this case it appears) Have to say I was a bit concerned but also well informed that this could be an eventual outcome (Expensive iPod lol)

    --- Update #3
    Okay well After a bit of Research. Here is the approach which worked for me.
    1. JB/Activate 05.15 BB (locked) with RS0.9.15b3
    2. Install iPad 06.15 BB with RS0.9.6b6
    3. Downgrade to 05.13 BB with RS0.9.14b2
    4. Install UltraSn0w 1.2.7 with Cydia. Unlocked! :)

    Thanks Guys!
    Credits: iphone dev-team, dhlizard, TriJetHero & the Friendly macrumors Community ^^
     

Share This Page