Updating Mac Pro graphics card

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Samatoosi, May 5, 2011.

  1. Samatoosi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    #1
    I'm thinking about updating the graphics card for my Mac Pro. I currently have a card from ATI Radeon HD 4800 series, and I need a new card especially for playing the newest games with the highest settings on Boot Camp. What card would you suggest for me? I guess I could also use more RAM, how should I proceed with that?
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    ATI 5870 from Apple Store.

    Proceed with getting RAM? Well, just buy it and stick it into the computer.
    Installation guides are available at apple.com/support.
    To get the necessary specs for the RAM, just google on your mac pro model. (i'd say you have a 4.1)
     
  3. Samatoosi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    #3
    Ok, thanks for your answer! But is it true that any graphics card that I put in my Mac Pro will work on Windows side but not on OS X? And did I understand correctly that the next version of OS X will support any graphics card? I'm asking because the Mac versions seem to be very expensive...
     
  4. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    Any card would work on the Windows side, provided it is fed proper power. Mac Pros have two 6-pin PCIe power headers on the logic board, so that's what you're limited to without legging off the ODD leads for auxiliary power. Also note that the logic board leads are a miniature type that only Apple uses, so you need special cables. eBay is your friend for those.

    I don't know where you read that. Like Snow Leopard, I would imagine Lion will be limited to supporting graphics cards it actually has drivers for. The biggest hurdle with graphics cards in Macs is that they need EFI firmware in order to boot and function under OS X.
     
  5. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    Probably from how ATI cards are working fine with drivers from the Lion developer previews.
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    They "work fine" only if you ignore or don't need all the things that don't work.
     
  7. virplay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #7
    Can I use the ati HD 4870 inside my macpro and buy Ati HD 5870 and put them togehther?

    Thx
     

Share This Page