Updating to iOS5 GM

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by joeshaw92, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. joeshaw92 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    #1
    Hi, I have found a copy of the iOS5 GM restore file for my phone (iPhone 4 GSM), just wondering if there will be any issues updating? I just bought the phone today (taking advantage of the offers to clear stock) and I would like to upgrade to the new iOS5. Will I lose any functionality or will there be any other issues with upgrading? Thankyou
     
  2. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #2
    i've just done it. everything seems alright.
     
  3. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
  4. joeshaw92 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    #4
    How did you go about doing it? It won't make a difference that my iPhone is white will it (different identifiers in firmware) Just dont want to risk it going tits up!
     
  5. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #5
    You need to Restore, not Update.

    Choosing Check For Update and browsing to the ipsw results in the 3002 error.
     
  6. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #6
    Yeah, I'm hitting restore, same result :rolleyes:
     
  7. joeshaw92 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
  8. Tom8 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Are you using iTunes 10.5 beta 9?
    If not you need to update to that, a quick google search will point you in the right direction.
     
  9. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #9
    Yup, on beta 9.
     
  10. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #10
    has your hosts file ever been edited?
    i have to resort to beta 7 for it to work, initially.
     
  11. jmjoh122 macrumors member

    jmjoh122

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Location:
    VA
    #11
    you need to be on beta 7 for itunes...if you're not a dev. So get ios5 GM and Itunes beta 7 and you'll be all set...
     
  12. ech2599, Oct 9, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2011

    ech2599 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #12
    Edited my post - not sure why I thought the notification center would be accessible on the lock screen, I do get the pop ups so I guess it's working correctly.
     
  13. jdodd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    #13
    Since I didn't want to start another iOS 5 GM thread, I'm hopping on this since it's what I would have titled mine :cool: I've updated to the GM and am wondering what happens now on the 12th? Should I restore to the backup I made just before updating and then install the update being released on that day?
     
  14. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #14
    it should be the same thing, so you won't even have to update if you don't want to. i don't think you can update either, you'd have to restore (IIRC)
     

Share This Page