Updating to iOS5 [HELP]

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by MarkGilmour, May 1, 2012.

  1. MarkGilmour macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #1
    Hi. I've got an iPhone 3gs on 4.2.1
    It has iPad baseband 06.15.00.
    I want to upgrade it to iOS5 - How do I do this while it still being unlocked?

    I have 4.1, 4.3.5, 5.0.1, 5.1 SHSH Blobs.

    I have tried all tutorials on the net and they either have Error 11 or Error 3194.

    I have no idea what to try now, can someone please help?

    Thankyou.



    (Please move if in wrong section thanks)
     
  2. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #2
    Have you tried just trying to update it it through iTunes?
     
  3. MarkGilmour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #3
    Hi i updated it from iTunes stock update & it now just says "Searching..." in the top left corner and says there is no sim card installed...

    Help please?
     
  4. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #4
    -cracks knuckles-

    Download a fresh iOS 5.0.1 IPSW.

    Use Redsn0w to create a NO_BB IPSW. EDIT: Might need iReb instead on Redsn0w on this step. Either way, make sure you have the latest copies of both.

    Use Redsn0w or iReb to stich your SHSH blobs from iOS 5.0.1 to your NO_BB IPSW.

    Use Redsn0w to enter Pwned DFU.

    Shift+(or Option in OS X) click restore in iTunes.

    Assuming that completes properly, then put your iPhone into DFU(normal this time), and use Redsn0w to Jailbreak, install Cydia, and reflash your iPad baseband.
     
  5. MarkGilmour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #5
    i got to this bit and got error 3194 (tried googling it and following steps but no luck)
     
  6. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #6
    Clearing your hosts file?

    Did you try this?
    Source

    Several other sources are saying that restarting your computer before restoring and after you apply these changes is required.
     
  7. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #7
    Actually, if thread starter had both the 5.0.1 APTicket and hash file and correctly stitched them to his No-BB IPSW, no authentication via host file is required, the authentication is built into the IPSW.
    So the host file is irrelevant for these restores.
     
  8. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

    ZCherub

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    GA, USA
    #8
    From my understanding, this is the single worst idea known to man for those with an iPad baseband.
     
  9. praktical macrumors regular

    praktical

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma City Oklahoma.
    #9
    iPhone 3GS to upgrade iOS 5

    my first impressions of IOS 5 on a 3GS was just plain awful. takes your phone to a slow crawl in doing anything at all. However if you're intent on doing so Kyotoma's solution is your best bet.
     
  10. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #10
    I thought about that after posting. :D You're right. My research was based off of previous 3194 error fixes.
     
  11. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #11
    No big deal.
    Every new restore method brings a whole new set of rules and errors.
    Always a learning curve.
     
  12. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #12
    A clueless guy trying to help. I rather these type of people not help if they know nothing about the question asked.
     
  13. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

    ZCherub

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    GA, USA
    #13
    Agreed! Stupid advice = non-working iDevices for other members...
     
  14. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #14
    Keeping that in mind, any idea on how to proceed here? I would love to know the fix for this one. Just for reference purposes, of course.
     
  15. MarkGilmour thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #15
    Fixed!

    Hi :) I've since fixed this problem and this is what i done:

    Stitched the SHSH blobs to my NO_BB custom firmware and restored from iTunes.
    I then used redsn0w to jailbreak it and i inserted the original carriers sim to activate it and then unlocked using ultrasn0w. (Didn't work the first few times so disabled antivirus etc)


    Thanks for all your help guys! :)
     
  16. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #16
    To be clear, you did not have to reflash the iPad baseband, correct? Just used your OG carrier SIM to activate(although you could bypass this through redsn0w)?
     
  17. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    it is not unusual to have to reflash the iPad baseband. Unusual that the OP did not have to.
     
  18. Kyotoma macrumors 68000

    Kyotoma

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Location:
    Carnegie and Ontario
    #18
    That's what I figured. I just wanted to double-check. Clarity purposes and all.
     

Share This Page