Updating to OS X 10.6.6

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by NFreak007, Jan 28, 2011.

1. NFreak007 macrumors newbie

I have been using my first ever Mac for a few months now and I love it! The thing is, it's still running OS X 10.6.3 and I haven't updated the OS before. I thought it was about time I updated, particularly with the Mac App Store, but I have a few questions.

Firstly, how long will the process take? I know the length of time the download will take depends on my internet connection, but how long does it take to install once the update has downloaded?
    Also, is there any danger of something going wrong? Should I back up everything before I try updating and, if so, what would be the best way to do that?
    Finally, I still have some old versions of various applications that I haven't felt the need to update, such as still using iTunes 9 as I don't feel I need any of the new features in iTunes 10. Will this matter or should I update those to the newest versions first?

Sorry for being such a noob! Hope you can give me some advice!

2. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

It shouldnt take that long - although it depends which Mac you have, how full your HD is etc. Id say about 10 minutes should easily cover it. If you need to update the application, it will "force" you to do it before the update will appear in Software Update (Its clever like that). Although having the most up-to-date applications is generally a good-ish idea (iTunes 10.1.2 I think is the latest now)

You should always have a backup regardless - Time Machine (built into your Mac) is the easiest way, but I doubt it would do anything (Ive never had it do anything to any of my Macs since OS X came out, but you never know - backups are something everyone should always have).

3. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110