Upgrade 2010 white MB for 2014 MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by r6mile, Apr 2, 2016.

1. r6mile macrumors 6502

Hi all,

My girlfriend currently has a 2010 white unibody Macbook, which I've upgraded over the last couple of years to 4GB of RAM and a Samsung EVO 850 128GB SSD and that has made a big difference. She really only uses it to browse the internet, watch youtube videos, and type word documents and e-mails, but it is beginning to feel a big laggy even for that. I've done a clean install of OS X which helped a little bit but not a lot. Now considering an upgrade for her; I have a 2013 13" MBA (8GB RAM) myself and am very happy with it, and considering whether to upgrade her to the 11" version of the same laptop I have (2013 or 2014 version).

Will get it second hand from CeX in the UK, who will take £206 in in-store credit for her laptop. They sell the 2014 11" MBA with 4GB of RAM and 128GB SSD for £450, and shouldn't cost very much at all (I have about £200 in store vouchers already). We have 2TB of NAS at home so storage is not an issue. But do you guys think 4GB of RAM is enough for her use? Any particular advantage between the 2014 and 2015 version?

Thanks,

2. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

Boyd01

I have a 2013 i7/8gb/512gb 11" MBA myself and love it. Don't see anything compelling enough to make me upgrade to a 2015 model. Previously I had a 2011 13" i5/4gb/256gb MBA and never had any RAM related issues. And I ran powerful software on that machine, like Final Cut Pro, Logic Pro, Photoshop, VectorWorks, FileMaker Pro, etc. Of course, that was 2011 and I was running Lion, no idea how newer versions of MacOSX figure into the equation, but I've read they do a better job of managing memory.