Upgrade 4.1 Mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by enny001, Sep 17, 2014.

  1. enny001, Sep 17, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2014

    enny001 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #1
    Hi guys I have mac pro 2009 4.1 quad core 12 gb ram from owc and gtx 550ti and Radeon HD 5770 both pc versions. I am video editor by trade i am doing some 3d rendering and soon 4k editing so i am thinking of upgrading my mac pro. To 32 gb Ram ssd drive and new cpu. My question are

    1 does my mac pro have one cpu or two cpus slots

    2 Can i install 12 core or only 6 core cpu and what models can my machine take? i am thinking ntel Xeon X5680 Six Core 3.33GHz for 299 on ebay

    3 Memory i found 32GB (4X8GB) DDR3 MEMORY Mac Pro 12-Core 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz Intel Xeon Westmere does it matter that its for 12 core machine

    4. If i upgrade my cpu to 6 or 12 core does memory have to specific for that cpu

    5 ssd drives i know its fast opening closing programs, but i am thinking of striping raid 0 on 2 WD 1tb black edition HD can this be done with ssd drives and is it faster if yes then 2 WD HD

    Thanks guys for your help
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    1) Open your case and check if there is one or two heat sink, then you will know the answer. Anyway, for quad core, it should be a single CPU version.

    2) X5680 is good for both single or dual CPU 4,1. Of course, for single CPU model, the max you can get is 6 cores.

    3) No problem at all. 4x8G is good for any 4,1 with X5680.

    4) Yes, you should use DDR3 1333MHz UDIMM ECC stick.

    5) Yes, you can use RAID 0 on SSDs, and it will be much much faster than HDDs.

    N.B. It seems you are not very familiar about your 4,1. You better do more study before pull the trigger. Upgrade a single CPU 4,1 is not hard at all, but you still need to flash the 5,1 firmware before you upgrade the CPU, otherwise, it won't boot. For dual CPU 4,1, at your current level, upgrade CPUs may become a disaster.
     
  3. mcnallym macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #3
    1.) Is a quad core so single CPU - to get a dual socket would need to get hold of a 4,1 Dual CPU board, and swap out.

    2.) If you want to install the X5680 or the W3680 chips then make sure you flash your 4,1 to a 5,1 first. Advantage of the 5680 is that can support extra RAM. support 2 CPU systems ( In a single socket system is irrelevant though )

    3.) The 5680/3680 can use ECC 1333MHz RAM, that is what should be looking for. You will have 4 slots so will work however check the speed first.

    4.) Memory doesn't have to be specific, lower speed processors support 1066MHz RAM, however 1333MHz will work fine, it would just run at 1066MHz until a CPU supporting 1333MHz is installed. My system was bought as a 2.8Quad and the RAM ran at 1066. After upgrade to W3680 then the RAM ran at 1333 instead. The RAM is 1333MHz, if as 1066MHz then would have remained at 1066MHz

    5.) Yes you can RAID0 SSD's. I do a pair of OCZ in my 5,1. As always with RAID0 then be aware of the issues that can occur with RAID0 such as if 1 disk goes then the whole RAID is gone etc. Personally I use a single SSD for Boot/Apps and then a RAID0 SSD for my FCPX Library. How often are you closing/opening Apps. and 1 SSD is quicker then a RAID0 WD Black unless have a really old SSD.
     
  4. enny001 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #4
    Hi guys thanks for fast answer. I got my self Intel Xeon X5680 Six Core 3.33GHz 12M 6.40GT/s and one ssd Hd for applications and two 1tb HD black edition that will be raid 0. I have 3 more question if you can answer please.

    1- do i really need 32 gb of memory if i am only running one application at the time would 16gb do?

    2- I am thinking of upgrading my video card from GTX 550ti to 750ti for davinci resolve that use cuda my question here is how many video cards cam my mac support without burning out?

    3- Can i just use any thermal paste when replacing my CPU


    Thanks again guys highly appreciated for help
     
  5. mcnallym macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #5
    It won't hurt having the extra RAM, I would guess with 4K editing you may find use the extra RAM.

    Mac Pro can support 1 GPU card. Motherboard has two GPU power connectors, however if can find one can fit an aux PSU in the lower optical bay to power a second card.

    Whilst can use pretty much any paste, I used some Thermalright Paste that had and would suggest using some quality paste. Is working fine on my W3680.
     
  6. enny001 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #6
    hi

    Hi guys just been contacted by the company that i got my memory from and they say that my mac serial number being e703700g4pc will support PC3-8500 memory as opposed to the New Apple Mac Pro 32gb 4x8 DDR3 1333mhz PC3-10600 204 Pin Memory offered in this listing. and right now i have 12 gb of 1066 from owc.

    So should i cancel or they don't know what they are taking about. Basically i will first update my 4.1 mac to 5.1 install Xeon X5680 Six Core 3.33GHz 12M 6.40GT/s and 32gb 4x8 DDR3 1333mhz PC3-10600 204 Pin Memory and i should be good to go.

    Thanks again
     
  7. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #7
    Your 4.1 Mac Pro will work with the PC3-10600 DDR3 1333mhz ram. Once you completed the firmware upgrade to 5.1 and have installed the x5680 and do a PRAM reset, your good to go. The company may not be aware that the PC3-10600 1333Mhz ram will also work on a 4.1 Mac Pro.
     
  8. dxm765 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #8
    Not to hijack or derail the thread, the hex cores @ 2.66Ghz will i see any preformance gain going from dual quads @ 2.66Ghz to dual hex's @2.66Ghz? or would i see more of a difference with dual hexs @ 2.93Ghz / 3.33Ghz?
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    ^^^^Unless your using applications that are multi processor aware you will notice no gain from increasing the total cores, but keeping the speed the same. I went with X5677s (Dual Quads @ 3.46MHz) because I felt the speed bump would be more beneficial to what I do, than going from 8 to 12 cores. My 5,1 feels pretty snappy to me, and my single core Geekbench score is 2780.

    Lou
     

Share This Page