Upgrade a Mac Pro 1 Quad-Core to 2 Quad-Cores later?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Julien, May 18, 2008.

  1. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    Looking at buying the mac pro with a single 2.8 Quad-Core because of price and not yet needed performance. However in time I may see the need for more performance as software becomes available to take advantage of multiple cores. Could I add a 2ed Quad-Core to the Mac Pro (is there an open socket) and if so must it be the same speed (2.8MHz)?
     
  2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #2
    This has been discussed many times. Try doing a search. I don't remember what the actual consensus was.
     
  3. Julien thread starter macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    I did search before posting but nothing was found? Will try advanced search to see.
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    This has been asked multiple times. I suggest a search.

    For example here, here, here...
     
  5. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #5
    To simplify without you having to go around the forums, yes, it is possible, however due to the special heat sink Apple uses in the Mac Pro, it is difficult to do due to the rarity of said item. I have found them for sale here, however I cannot be confident in the trustworthiness of said website.
     
  6. D4F Guest

    D4F

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #6
    Just remember that most of mac pros have different heat sinks.
    I'm about to order mine and test it out.
    If it works then I'm perfectly sure that I will be able to drop 2x3.0 quads next year or two and will cost me 50-60% of what I would have to pay today.
    And let's face it. For what I do 2.8 quad is awesome. 2x3.0 will be heaven but I'm not rushing as I'm perfectly happy with the quad for now.

    This one will work with the single quad. 2.8/3.0 Heatsink
     
  7. greenmeanie macrumors 6502a

    greenmeanie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Location:
    CT
    #7
    I chatted with an employee from Apple.
    They said I could upgrade later.
    One would think if they are telling me yes and you can't you could sue them later.
     
  8. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #8
    Apple employee's don't always know what they are talking about...
     
  9. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #9
    Truth is you could, but in reality you might not like the price of the parts from Apple.

    In reality, the local Apple store might not sell you the parts due to Apple policy, and sourcing the specific Apple parts might not always be possible.

    To make it true, all Apple has to do is charge someone $1000 or $1500 when they come into an Apple Store and say an Apple employee told me I could when I made my purchase.

    In the past, they have gotten in trouble with saying something was upgradeable, but the lawsuits never said anything about making the actual "from Apple" upgrades affordable either.
     
  10. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #10
    Read carefully, not saying you can not but are saying it is not worth the effort. Either be happy with the quad or save and get the dual quad. Doing it yourself would not be profitable for quite some time... by then 12 cores will be the rage.:cool::apple:

    ps... why is everyone so sue happy.
     
  11. Vanilla Thunder macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #11
    LOL. I don't think you will see a non-binary number of cores in a personal computer anytime soon.
     
  12. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #12
    Personally I have no problem with 11, however 33 is my favorite.:D
     
  13. Vanilla Thunder macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    #13
    33 may require a 4000 Watt power supply! :D
     
  14. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Then explain AMDs three core Phenom CPUs...

    And of course the next-generation Intel Xeons destined for future Mac Pros have 6 cores resulting in a 12 core machine...
     
  15. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #15
    AMD is desperate for sales so they're selling defective quads as tris...

    Dunnington is designed for blade servers/HPCs (and is also based on Tigerton, not Harpertown) so it won't be coming to the Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page