Upgrade advice for a Macintosh newbie?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by BulmaSMG, Jul 29, 2013.

1. BulmaSMG macrumors newbie

BulmaSMG

Hey.

I currently own an eMac that I bought a couple of years ago. And considering it's age and the fact that it's running Tiger and has PPC, I'm thinking of upgrading.

Things to consider:

I'm a student and investing in the newest hardware would take a really long time.

I want to know what to look for when it comes to being stable. As in: What's the most stable OS X version right now that comes with an inexpensive machine?

I'd go for a Mac Mini but the $599 price tag is a bit high for me. I saw an iMac from late 2006 around $200 and it can apparently run up to Lion. Is a late 2006 machine any good?

I'm looking for a machine that's stable but can match that $200 price tag. All help is appreciated!

2. satcomer macrumors 603

satcomer

Upgrading such and old Mac will get away that $200 real quick and is not really worth it. Just continue to save up to get a Mac Mini because they should be updated within a month or two. This way the saving you do between these two points you should be able to budget for yourself to get one.

3. BulmaSMG thread starter macrumors newbie

BulmaSMG

Thanks for the advice.

How long should that machine last me? I've had the same PC for awhile and the only upgrade I've done to it is going from XP to 7. I really have no idea how long a newer Mac is going to last.

4. satcomer macrumors 603

satcomer

One save that windows 7 disk because you can BootCamp and have the best of both worlds.

In my signature you will be I have 2008 & 2007 Macs so if you treat most any computer right you can make it run for a long time. Also there are many upgrade videos (along with a cool site named Accelerate Your Macintosh).

5. BulmaSMG thread starter macrumors newbie

BulmaSMG

Thanks again.