Upgrade from 2011 MBP for music

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by superbass, Dec 2, 2016.

1. superbass macrumors newbie

I'm a video editor for work and use the company's gear. At home I'm a music composer and take on occasional freelance video editing. I'd like more power for virtual instruments, USB 3.0 to run sample libraries on external SSD, and need to keep current with a modestly powered FCPX and Premiere system.
    (no 4k work yet).

Currently running a 2011 MBP / 16GB RAM / 512 SSD / Radeon 6770M 1GB VRAM.
    Lacie TB2 Hard Drive, 27" ASUS monitor.

Options:

1.) I've located a dealer with a 2015 refurb w/ 1year warranty /2.5 Ghz / 512 SSD / AMD 370X for $1800.
    2.) Buy a new 2016 2.7 / 512 SSD / 555 for $2800 + $100 cables/dongles
    3.) Keep my 2011 and wait for the next MBP refresh.

Thoughts? I'm stuck on a great deal vs possible future proofing. I like to keep computers about 4-5 years.

2. thats all folks macrumors 6502a

thats all folks

I am curious as to what a mid 2017 update might be (and would recommend skipping the newest model) but that is a good price on the 2015. would make for a decent upgrade on what you have now and you get to keep using any extra power supplies you have. if you are making money with your machine I'd think buying the 2015 now is worth it. but maybe don't expect to keep it so long. the next few years will hopefully be more interesting than the last few.

3. R3k macrumors 6502a

Both 2015 and 2016 are almost equally powerful for your needs. Guess it's really about how much you want to spend. Is having a nice newer model worth the extra $1000? For me, yes. For a colleague, he went for a 2015 model a week ago. We both do music professionally.

4. Charlesje macrumors member