Upgrade from Lion to DP4?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by ProphetX, Jun 15, 2012.

  1. ProphetX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #1
    Is it possible to upgrade from lion to dp4 without doing a clean install?

    Reason i ask is that one of my mba has lion on it and i want to keep the settings as is. I don't want to make the mistake of going through the installation process only to lose the settings and files.
     
  2. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #2
    Yes, but if you have to ask, don't. The GM is probably only a few weeks away anyway.
     
  3. ProphetX thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #3

    Will i lose my current settings and files?
     
  4. baller1308 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #4
    I'm not sure if you'll be able to upgrade to the retail version of ML from DP4. Also, DP4 still has bugs and installing beta OS's on top of your main OS install is never a good idea, even if you have it backed up.
     
  5. jnl1211 macrumors 6502

    jnl1211

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Location:
    NWIndiana
    #5
    You can straight upgrade to it and keep your stuff. There are additional settings you'll have to set but other than that you're good.


    As far as DP4 and GM, if you're getting DP4 you'll know where to get GM. With Lion GM and the final release were same build numbers so when you'd go to App store it would say Lion "Installed". Basically if you install you're fine and when you load GM you wont have to worry about release as you'll basically have it!
     

Share This Page