Upgrade from MBP 13 to 15

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by blackranger3d, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. blackranger3d macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #1
    Hey all

    I have a new MBP 13.

    I'm "thinking" of taking it back and upgrading to a 15". I need more screen for doing video stuff. Anyway

    Can I switch my SSD out of my old machine into the new machine without doing anything.
     
  2. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #2
    pretty sure some of the base-level OS stuff is gonna be different with the new computer, especially if you're switching size...
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    If it's from the same generation, and both have the same OS, there shouldn't be any issues.
     
  4. blackranger3d thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #4
    Yeah same gen and OS.

    Hmmm I'm probably going to do it.

    Cheers, for the help.

    Worst case it doesn't work and I'll just reinstall stuff.
     
  5. vitzr macrumors 68030

    vitzr

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Just Do It!

    You'll be so glad you did.

    As much as I really enjoy my MBA's I still favor my MBP's.

    In 15" I have the hi-res anti-glare & it's stunning.
     
  6. blackranger3d thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #6
    WOOT love it.

    Worked like a charm.

    Removed SSD and Opti Bay from my MBP13

    Stuck it in the MBP 15.

    And BAM

    It all runs perfectly.
     
  7. EmbraceNext macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    #7
    Yeah, what gets me is the MBA has a better screen resolution than the 13" Pro. i don't get that. Its been killing me but I want small with 8gb of ram. So I went with the Pro13.
     
  8. tinkori macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #8
    +1

    8GB + 120gb intel ssd + base 13" = speed monster :)

     
  9. DWBurke811 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #9
    With how terrible the Air's screens look (IMO they're not usable) it wouldn't matter if they were 12800x8000, I'd still pick the 13" Pro.
     
  10. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #10
    if the resolution was really 12800x8000 you wouldn't be able to read anything if you used it at full resolution :p
     
  11. DWBurke811 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #11
    I assume they'll have resolution independence worked put by then...
     
  12. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    Highly recommend the High-res screen :)
    Good luck
     

Share This Page