Upgrade from Snow Leopard beta to retail?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by CristobalHuet, Aug 12, 2009.

  1. CristobalHuet macrumors 65816

    CristobalHuet

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal
    #1
    Quick question, I searched a bit but didn't find a suitable answer.

    Now that 10A432 has hit the GM stage, how will people who have the dev/beta seeds installed on their Mac be able to upgrade? Will we have to backup our files, install Leopard then upgrade to Snow Leopard? Or will we be able to upgrade from Snow Leopard (say the current build, 10A421) beta to 10.6.0 with the same $29 disc Leopard users will be getting?

    Thanks for any answer, can't wait for 10.6.0, should be MUCH less buggier than 10.5.0, the beta seeds are incredibly stable.
     
  2. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
  3. CristobalHuet thread starter macrumors 65816

    CristobalHuet

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal
    #3
    You mean Erase and Install?
     
  4. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #4
    If you are part of the dev. program, I'd just call them.
     
  5. CristobalHuet thread starter macrumors 65816

    CristobalHuet

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal
    #5
    Sounds like too much of a hassle lol.

    It's only two options really: erase or archive. Archive and Install would make sense though.
     
  6. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #6
    I wouldn't be surprised if it just popped up in software update like the previous few builds have.
     
  7. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #7
    Sure.
     
  8. Riemann Zeta macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #8
    I was actually hoping to be able to an 'archive and install' from 10A421 to 10A432, so that I could keep my data and not have to reinstall everything. But is seems that is no longer a possible option--it is either upgrade or format/install.

    And the RTM build will definitely not be released via software update--it is a full 6.2GB iso image.
     
  9. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Everyone who knows anything at all about Mac development would be shocked.
     
  10. mackmgg macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #10
    If you are part of the dev. program, you'd get the full non-upgrade version in the mail
     
  11. BittenApple macrumors 6502a

    BittenApple

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #11
    You can just make a backup to your Time Machine and restore upon reinstall (If that's an option)
     

Share This Page