Upgrade from Snowleopard to Yosemite

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kublaiboy, Feb 27, 2017.

  1. kublaiboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I have a late 2008 Mac Pro that I need to upgrade to Yosemite because some newer apps would not run on the Snowleopard. I looked for Yosemite, but it's not in App Store. It's not on the legacy OS X page either.

    http://www.apple.com/shop/help/downloadable_software?afid=p231|camref:1101lmYI&cid=AOS-US-AFF-PHG

    After some research I found that I need to find a friend who has previously downloaded Yosemite and have him/her to download the Yosemite from the "purchased/downloaded" history. Then pass the OS dmg to me to install.

    Now I also found that I need Yosemite 10.10. to upgrade, but not Yosemite 10.10.5. So I don't know what's the right procedure here.

    Please help. I've attached my Mac Pro spec screenshot here.

    Thank you!

    KB
     

    Attached Files:

  2. blindside217 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    #2
    You are correct that if you never "got" Yosemite from the App Store then you will need to find it elsewhere.

    Why can you not use 10.10.5? That is the only installer you will likely find anymore.
     
  3. kublaiboy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #3
  4. DeltaMac, Feb 27, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2017

    DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    If you download the Yosemite installer from the App Store, you will get the last updated version, 10.10.5

    The link that you posted might be good, if it would work.
    Try it for yourself.

    Looks like a download that would have worked while Yosemite was still in the active list to search, then purchase (even free software is "purchased", which, for free software, is a transaction to add it to your AppleID account.
     
  5. kublaiboy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #5
    The page I mentioned above says

    I downloaded the 10.10.5, but it tells me that I first need to install 10.10. The download page I mentioned above has following:

    OS X 10.10.5 (Delta update [10.10.4 to 10.10.5], 1.02 GB)
    OS X 10.10.5 (Combo update [10.10 to 10.10.5], 2.12 GB)
    OS X 10.10.4 (Delta update [10.10.3 to 10.10.4], 1.09 GB)
    OS X 10.10.4 (Combo update [OS X 10.10.x to 10.10.4], 2.02 GB)
    OS X 10.10.3 (Delta update [10.10.2 to 10.10.3], 1.52 GB)
    OS X 10.10.3 (Combo update [10.10.x to 10.10.3], 2 GB)
    OS X 10.10.2 (Delta update [10.10.1 to 10.10.2], 554.3 MB)
    OS X 10.10.2 (Combo update [10.10.x to 10.10.2], 841.1 MB)

    Does it mean I have to start from the bottom one 10.10.2 first? Is there a 10.10 only?

    Thanks.

    KB
     
  6. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #6
    Anything with "Update" in the name is just that, an update and not a functioning stand alone system.
    The install file you need will be about 5.8 GB in size.
    I might be able to help you out so send me a PM.
     
  7. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #7
    Why stop at Yosemite? El Capitan will also run on that Mac, and you can get the latest version of El Capitan - 10.11.6 - in a single download, using a link in this support article: https://support.apple.com/HT206886. You can upgrade directly from 10.6.8 to 10.11.6.

    A "delta" contains only what has changed since the previous version ("delta" means "change" in this context). In other words, the 10.10.2 delta requires that you have 10.10.1 installed, the 10.10.3 delta requires that you have 10.10.2 installed.

    A "combo" update combines all the delta updates, instead of installing each of the deltas in sequence. For example, the 10.10.5 "combo" just requires that you have 10.10 installed.

    Deltas and combos are "updates," not "upgrades." An upgrade takes you from one major version to another (Snow Leopard to Lion, or Snow Leopard to El Capitan). And update just contains changes to the current, major version (Yosemite 10.10 to Yosemite 10.10.5, for example).

    The one thing you can't get at that page is 10.10. If you can't get that, all those other downloads are useless to you.
     
  8. kublaiboy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #8

    I didn't know I could go directly from 10.6.8 to 10.11.6. WOW! I thought I had to get to 10.10 first. I might just go straight to 10.11.6.

    Now, I have some older Adobe applications such as photoshop CS6, etc. Would they still work on El Capitan?
     
  9. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #9
    I can't be sure about this, though I think CS6 is fine on El Capitan. I'd go to Adobe.com to check it out.
     
  10. kublaiboy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #10
    I ran into a problem while installing El Capitan. It tells me that my Mac HD is not formated as Mac OS Extended(Journaled). But in the Disk Utilities, it says it's Mac OS Extended. As a matter of fact, I never reformatted this MacBook Pro 2009 Unibody when I bought it new. What's going on?

    Can anyone help?

    Screen shot 2017-02-28 at 1.59.44 PM.png

    Screen shot 2017-02-28 at 2.00.28 PM.png
     
  11. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #11
    There should be a menu option to enable journaling in Disk Utility. If you click that, then you should be all set. In 2009, the computer would have come with journaling enabled, so something would have changed to cause it to be disabled.
    Edit: Click the green button at the top of the window that says "Enable Journaling."
     
  12. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    They're probably not "supported", but probably do still work (at least to an extent). I'm still running Fireworks CS3 on Sierra...
     
  13. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #13
    So tell me, how did you get your 2008 Mac Pro to morph into a 2009 MacBook Pro?
     
  14. now i see it macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    #14
    All Adobe CS3 apps work on El Capitan. If CS3 works, then CS6 certainly will. Go to roaringapps.com and find out.

    All of the earlier Mac OS installers can be purchased on a bootable USB stick on Amazon. Search "Mac OS USB". I got one for El Capitan since I had never downloaded any of them and it makes installation brainless.

    Each OS installer contains the first version that can be subsequently updated over the web to its final version.

    It is preferable to install a new OS on a wiped drive instead of trying to update SL step by step.
     

Share This Page