Upgrade Graphics on new MacBook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by jaxonkohne, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. jaxonkohne macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    #1
    With the new MacBook is it possible to update your graphics card? from a 9400M G to a 9600 GT for example... is this possible and worth it?

    cheers
    JaxonK
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    You're stuck with the 9400M G on the MacBook.
     
  3. jaxonkohne thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    #3
    thats really dissapointing... i was hoping you could manually upgrade it ater you bought it but no dice i guess? :(
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    There are very few laptops that have upgradeable graphics. If one does it's going to be a rather expensive gaming laptop with limited availability MXM cards. I've known a few people to tear apart their Dell Latitudes to replace the video cards with ones off of eBay but that's not so hard to do.
     
  5. mobilehavoc macrumors 6502

    mobilehavoc

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #5
    Will never be possible, the 9400M GPU is part of the motherboard chipset so you'd essentially have to replace the entire motherboard.
     
  6. zombie1210 macrumors regular

    zombie1210

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #6
    I wouldn't say "stuck".

    The 9400 works fine. I play COD 4 with no problems and a decent frame rate. A major improvement over the last gen video.
     
  7. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    Its integrated which means its not a separate item that can be removed, but even the dedicated graphics on the MBP can't be upgraded.
     
  8. jaxonkohne thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
    #8
    is it possible to run FCP on the new macbooks as in the new studio 2?
     
  9. Skeletal-dæmon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    #9
    Well Final Cut Studio works okay if sluggish on my friend's late 07 MacBook and with the upgrades to processor, FSB, RAM and graphics I see no reason why the new MacBooks couldn't run FCS2 if not well then at least not terribly sluggish.
     

Share This Page