Upgrade: HD or RAM first?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Krafty, Feb 1, 2008.

1. Krafty macrumors 601

Krafty

Alright well, being a college student I'm running a 1 year old MacBook CD. Instead of begging my parents for a MacBook Pro I decided I would suck it up and stick with what I got, since in reality there isnt a REAL need to upgrade. In order to keep up though, there are 2 upgrades I need: RAM and HD.

I recently bought a bigger HD (from stock 60GB to 120GB) a couple months ago. For me, I listen to a lot of music and download albums constantly, but being a graphic designer too, I have a lot of renders and .pngs in which I have a lot of folders, most ranging in 200-800MB+. I am not down to 32GB which I've been trying to balance out, but this is keeping me from being able to put the Adobe Suite on cause it will eat up what I have left. I also wanted to run XP, but I really dont have enough room.

As of RAM, I recently made a post if I should get an updated Mac cause I needed (or thought) a faster Mac. I have 2GHz right now, but since I'm not too tech savy I can't really tell if I'm using full CPU or not, but I multi-task a lot, and often it causes programs (or OSX) to freeze or run slowly or I have to wait a minute to switch programs. Right now I'm running on stock 1GB.

I need both, but since my budget is tight I have to take it one step at a time. But which one should I upgrade first?

2. krnboy503 macrumors regular