Upgrade Iphone 3G RAM ??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by NinjaHERO, Jul 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NinjaHERO macrumors 6502a

    NinjaHERO

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    U S of A
    #1
    This is probably an insane question, but does anyone know if it would be possible or worth while to upgrade the RAM in my Iphone 3G?

    It works great, but runs super slow with iOS4. I don't see a reason to replace a perfectly good phone, but I would obviously love it if I could make it run faster.

    Thoughts?


    Thanks in advance for the help.
     
  2. spblat macrumors 6502a

    spblat

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #2
    Inconceivable. Stick with iOS 3 until you're ready for newer hardware.
     
  3. Goldinboy17 macrumors 65816

    Goldinboy17

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca
    #3
    iOS4 on iPhone 3G? Might as well use Windows Vista with 256MB's of RAM. Upgrading the iPhone 3G's RAM, if even possible, doesn't sound cost-convenient.
     
  4. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
  5. NinjaHERO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NinjaHERO

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    U S of A
    #5
    Great Movie Quote.



    While I could stick with iOS3, I really like the folders option. I thought about upgrading to a 3GS, but they are barely cheaper than the 4. Seems silly to bother. So I was just looking for temporary upgrade options while I wait for the next iPhone.
     
  6. NinjaHERO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NinjaHERO

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    U S of A
    #6
    It can't be upgraded???
     
  7. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #7
    Embedded systems like smartphones put all the RAM, GPU, etc onto the same chip as the CPU. There's nothing to upgrade, and there's no room to allow for upgradable parts. There's barely enough room for the components that are there.
     
  8. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #8
    you have to rip everything apart and in the process destroy the phone. and a lot of things run with each other. i think the ram is connected or part of the processor? anyhow you would be spending 2X as much as buying a new phone. not to mention all the work.
     
  9. NinjaHERO thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NinjaHERO

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    U S of A
    #9
    I was afraid of something like that. I knew you all would have the answer.

    Thanks everyone for helping.
     
  10. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #10
    if it hasn't already made itself abundantly clear from previous posts in this thread, no. It's not possible. Inconceivable.

    But don't let that stop you from prying it open and seeing what you can do.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Yeah, maybe stick any spare DDR ram sticks you have at home:D
     
  12. theappleone, Oct 17, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 18, 2014

    theappleone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #12
    But unless you can build a custom casing for it for example, remove the whole board out (carefully and completly discharge yourself before even touching it) and maybe build a casing big enough to support (modified) laptop ram probably and possibly make the device faster and awesome looking as well. Oh, and you may have to modify the chip inside if possible.
     
  13. myscrnnm macrumors 65816

    myscrnnm

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #13
    Probably easier and cheaper to just get a 3GS if you're interested in that.:D
     
  14. syphern macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
  15. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #15
    You guys realize that the last reply was 4 years ago, right?
     
  16. Daniel3102 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    #16
    Add RAM to an iPhone? Might as well put an A7 and 1500 mAh batter while you're at it! :p

    It probably wouldn't be worth it. But, I know how you feel. I have an old 3Gs and I LOVE the way it feels in the hand :)
     
  17. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #17
    Zombie thread comes back from the dead. But I had to respond to address this.

    No. Just no. The laptop memory is no doubt going to have different timings from the built in RAM on the SoC. Then you have to power that RAM and whatever controller you install with it. And this completely ignores the fact that you probably still won't get the RAM recognized by the SoC, because nothing on the board or its firmware is looking for any attached out-of-spec, different-timing RAM on a separate controller.

    And even ignoring all of THAT... the CPU and GPU probably aren't powerful enough to run iOS4 anyway.

    So no, you can't upgrade it. Even if you could, all the effort and cost of materials would likely be more than just ditching the phone and getting the next model up anyway.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page