Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jtdel99

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 13, 2020
Hello all, I am a noob computer-fixer-upper for my dad for Father's day.

His 2008 iMac A1224 500Gb HDD was no longer functioning with Safari, making it useless. It is running Leopard 10.5.8. I want to update it to the highest supported OS which is El Capitan. Firstly, I upgraded the RAM from 1Gb to 6Gb. Now, I want to upgrade the OS.

Initially, It appeared I need to purchase (somehow) a Snow Leopard DVD and upgrade to that, then I could use the App Store to upgrade to 10.11 El Capitan. However, I came across the option of a bootable USB. I don't have a USB, so I decided to use a partitioned external HDD. I went into Terminal and got it to be bootable. Next, I restarted, OPTION, and got to boot screen, chose the bootable HDD labeled Install Mac OS X El Capitan. Things looked promising. Then, a circle with line through it ie. a "do not enter" symbol came up. Nothing happened, so it then finished by defaulting to boot to the main drive.

SO. Where am I going wrong? Is the fact that it is a partitioned HDD the issue? That's an easy enough fix. Or is there a way to just delete the old iMac disk and have the clean install of 10.11 over the erased disk? Is it an error because I only have Leopard? I backed up his data externally so erasing his disk is an option. Is the El Capitan download I have good to install over an empty disk or does it need to be installed over Snow Leopard at least? I downloaded El Capitan from Apple, and I also read about a clock issue, but seems that after Oct. 2019, the clock issue no longer pertains? Any guidance is appreciated. Thank you all.
-Jt

superiska123

macrumors regular
Jun 5, 2014