Upgrade Mac Pro Set up

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Chrisg2014, Dec 20, 2011.

  1. Chrisg2014 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I'm bought a Mac Pro, I got a Core-8 modle, right now it has

    1Tb HDD
    6Gb of RAM
    Two 2.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Westmere” processors
    ATI Radeon HD 5770 with 1GB GDDR5​

    So basicly the base modle of the Core-8

    I want to upgrade a lot of it when I get the money. The Storage, I really want a SSD and just have that be the start up disc so thats where Lion OS X is going to live with all my applications and then have my Documents, Music, Videos, Pictures and what ever else that is not an App have on a HDD as a home base for them. ​
    The second thing I want to do is upgrade the Ram, I want really badly 32Gb of RAM, I was going to have apple put that in but I thought I could probably get it 10x cheaper somewhere else. Can you leave a link of a place that has cheap ram and you can personally say it works great.​
    The last thing I want to do is I want to get a second Graphics Card, now the question if I get an ATI Radeon HD 5870 Graphics, will it matter that I have two different kinds of cards or no? Should I get the same card? Should I upgrade both? Is it going to make a differents? I'm editing videos on this computer so...I'll be using Final Cut Pro X and Motions and some other stuff.​

    Thanks Guys and Gals for your help!
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    Excuse my ignorance, why do you want two graphic cards? How many displays are you driving?
     
  3. Chrisg2014 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    4 Monitors
     
  4. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #4
    The Mac Pro only has 2 of the 6pin power connectors for video cards. This can limit your options. Another 5770 will work fine, as it only requires 1 power connector, but the 5870 requires 2, so you would need an external power source for that card.

    Check out OWC or Newegg for RAM
     

Share This Page