Upgrade MACbook AIR

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by hole321, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. hole321 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a MACbook air 13" one version before the most new one
    Now i want to move my OWC HDD to the latest one that i will purchase , will i need to re-install my OS ( my current one is Snow leopard)


    Thanks
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    And what is your question? Do you have the 2010 MBA or the earlier version?


    To create a Clean Install (formerly known as Erase & Install) of Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard (the 29 USD Upgrade DVD is a fully working retail version of Mac OS X and does not need a prior installation of Mac OS X on the Mac), follow one of the following guides (you can also use the Restore USB flash memory thumb drive coming with the 2010 MBA):
    Short version: Clean Install of OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard
    Long version: Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard: How to Erase and Install
     
  3. hole321 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    #3

    I have the older one right now, if i will take my HDD and put in in the new one it will work with Snow leopard?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    You mean you have the 2010 MBA and want to take its SSD out and put it into the 2011 MBA?
    You might be able to boot the 2011 MBA (there are many threads about using 10.6 on 2011 MBAs), but some drivers will be missing.


    ____________________________________________________________

    Maybe have a look at Advanced Search to find similar threads:
    [​IMG]
    ____________________________________________________________
     
  5. wrinkster22 macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    The previous macbook airs had hard drives that wont physically fit in the macbook air.
    This is another case of the OP not providing enough info...
     
  6. hole321 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    #6
    More info

    I have MacBookAir3,2 (13") and i'm purchasing MacBookAir4,2 (13").
    From OWC site the HDD should physically, fit, but my only concern is the driver issue, is this can be solved with OS updated for a normal user or this can be solved by some MAC OS expert?

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/OWC/Aura_Pro_Express

    Thanks again
     
  7. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #7
    Snow Leopard is buggy on the new MacBook Airs, as they were designed to run Lion. If you install the latest Lion build (10.7.2) the old SSD should work in the new Air, however.
     
  8. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #8
    This has nothing to do with the topic buy may be of help to the OP someday:

    There is a difference in the computer world between MAC and Mac. MAC is a media access control where as Mac is an Apple computer. In your post it makes no difference but if your title said something like:

    "Problem with MAC" you may get help from networking guys :p
     
  9. Stewart21 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    #9
    Do you really want to move your drive or do you want to move your files? Your new MBA will have an SSD hard drive in it. I can't see the point in buying a new MBA then immediately invalidating the warranty by changing the new SSD for and older one. Oh, and Lion will run much better than Snow Leopard on your new MBA.

    Stewart
     
  10. halledise macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #10
    no it won't - different firmware for one and probably internal space issues for two.
    go with Stewart21's suggestion above and move your files
     
  11. Robyr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #11
    His old one will work fine guys. The whole point of him moving it is so he can keep the upgraded OWC drive. Read more carefully.

    EDIT: With the obvious exception that he will need to load Lion first.
     
  12. hole321, Jan 2, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012

    hole321 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    #12
    I want to move my HDD to the new MBA, to avoid reinstall the OS.
    I have a larger HDD from OWC that the new MBA is arrived with.
     
  13. halledise macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #13
    as stated before - the firmware on your new Air differs from the firmware on your prior Mac.
    ergo, ipso facto, you will need to be running Lion on either HDD or else it ain't gonna work :D
     
  14. Robyr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #14
    You are using the term firmware wholly incorrectly.
     
  15. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #15
    So many responses for a simple question.

    Can you move your larger OWC SSD to your new MBA? YES

    Can you continue to use Snow Leopard on the new MBA? NO

    No matter how you slice it, you'll have to:

    Make a backup of the OWC, install it into the new MBA, format it, install Lion and finally reinstall your apps and pull over the files you need.

    OR

    Upgrade to Lion while the drive is in the old MBA.

    I would recommend that you do a clean install of Lion once the SSD is in the new MBA. There have been too many reports of issue after trying to upgrade Snow Leopard (despite what many will subsequently post here do a clean install).
     
  16. LAS.mac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Location:
    Mexico
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I second Zipzap answer.
    What I'd do is backup your current files to an external drive, using Time Machine. Format your old SSD. Clone on it what there is on the new SSD of the new MBA. Physically install the old SSD. Recover all the info frOm Time Machine backup.
     
  17. halledise macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #17
    how so?

    firmware |ˈfərmˌwer|
    nounComputing
    permanent software programmed into a read-only memory.

    ----------

    you are simply adding your spin to the answers already given
     
  18. Robyr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    #18

    The SSD has nothing to do with the firmware of the device, nor is any "firmware" stored on the drive itself (at least none that is meant to limit working configurations). You need to think before you say something that is not only incorrect, but that others will hear/read that DO know what they are talking about.
     
  19. halledise macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #19
    one cannot run Snow Leopard on a 2011 MBAir irrespective of what HDD one inserts into it because of the …

    oh, what's the use :rolleyes:
     
  20. Stewart21 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Location:
    South Yorkshire
    #20
    Ignoring the Firmware debate I found this on the Apple Support pages.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2186

    It's called "Don't install a version of Mac OS X earlier than what came with your Mac" . It says:-

    If you install an earlier (previous) version of the Mac OS X than what was included, your computer may exhibit unexpected behavior such as:

    The trackpad or mouse may not respond properly
    The computer may stop responding
    Sleep/wake issues may occur
    The display image may appear to "shrink" with black bars around it, may appear tinted, or have other issues
    Loss of built-in audio
    Loss of Bluetooth or AirPort functionality
    May not start up past the Apple logo
    See this article to learn if the Mac OS X or Mac OS X Server version on your Mac is what originally came with the computer."

    I suggest the only way to prove or disprove whether what the OP wants to do will be to try it and see. He can always go back to the "original SSD"

    Stewart
     
  21. halledise macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Hamilton Island, Whitsundays, QLD Australia
    #21
    yes thanks for the clarification in you post Stewart.

    my point for the other chap, was merely that firmware does NOT reside on a HDD and therefore a 2011 Air will not allow a SL HDD from an earlier Air to function adequately - if at all.

    I think we were in agreement for the need to install Lion first before attempting to physically install the 'old' HDD in the new Air

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1471
     

Share This Page