Upgrade MBP or Upgrade to MBP?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by rick3000, Jul 30, 2012.

1. rick3000 macrumors 6502a

rick3000

I have a 2.8Ghz 4GB 5400RPM 15" MBP (Mid-2009), I'm running Mountain Lion and I go out of AppleCare in a month. I'm a casual photographer/filmmaker so I use FCP and Aperture, but 85% of my usage is web browsing, email, etc. I would really like a new MBP, but I'm not to fond of spending the money on a new Mac.

I can upgrade my current MBP to a 256GB SSD and 8GB Ram for about $250.
    Or I can sell my MBP, and get a 15" 2.6Ghz 8GB 7500RPM for about $2300.

I don't have a huge problem with the 2.8Ghz, but the load times and slow app switching is killing me. Worth upgrading to a new mac or just upgrade what I've got? Thoughts?

Thanks!

2. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

basesloaded190

Get the SSD. That will make your MBP feel like a brand new machine.

3. bunit macrumors regular

bunit

I have the same dilemma as you do, and I have the same spec Macbook Pro. I decided to just order 8GB of RAM from OWC, deciding to save money as the Mac I have now works great, but when using Aperture along with a couple other programs at the same time, things get a little sluggish. But other than that, it runs to good to justify shelling out the money for a new one.

4. js81 macrumors 65816

js81

I have (almost) the same MBP. I just recently upgraded mine to a 120GB OCZ Agility 3 and it has made a WORLD of difference. It is literally like a new machine. I plan to do the 8GB and Mountain Lion upgrades, too. Money well spent, IMHO. And Newegg has the 240GB Agility for $149 after rebate right now, too.

EDIT: Link to 240GB Agility 3. If you do decide to get an Agility SSD, be sure to download the ISO of OCZ's SSD toolbox and lock the SATA speed to SATA II - otherwise, on this MBP the SSD will only operate at SATA I speed. Really easy, 1-click fix.

5. Yebubbleman macrumors 68030

Yebubbleman