Upgrade my 2008 Macbook or Buy an iPad?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by travist128, Sep 10, 2012.

1. travist128, Sep 10, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2012

travist128 macrumors newbie

Hey Everyone,

I have an early 2008 Macbook (Core 2 Duo) that was not included in the Mountain Lion update. I'm a grad student and really like the idea of the iPad for reading articles and various PDFs rather than printing them off. I really prefer to highlight and take margin notes on my articles, so either printing them or having an iPad makes the most sense.

Taking my Macbook to class for PDFs and to take notes hasn't worked well for me so far, as I still prefer to take paper notes. My initial thought was to buy an iPad to have my articles with me while I take notes on paper.

Here's the conundrum: with a limited budget (I can only afford one or the other right now), is it a better idea to upgrade my laptop (say, to a Macbook Air) or to stick with my Macbook and buy an iPad? Will I have issues in the future getting the full potential out of an iPad with iOS 6 with a computer that is still running OS X Lion? Ultra-portable Macbook Air only, or an iPad in addition to my aging Macbook?

P.S.- I should also mention that the price would be relatively the same. $550 for a refurb. iPad 3 32GB, or about $850 for a refurb. Macbook Air minus the money I could get out of my current Macbook ($200-$300).

Thanks in advance for your advice!

2. RedCroissant Suspended

I would get the iPad and keep your macbook. There should be no problem getting the most out of the iPad because they really are designed to be separate devices and should not affect anything.