Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

thedirtyduo

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 17, 2007
I've been using my mac pro since early 2006. I've been editing standard def dv until recently. I'm now working with AVCHD footage and have noticed a huge difference in speed. Looking at my current specs, should I upgrade or consider buying new? My wife wants me to consider upgrading to get me 1-2 more years out of this computer, if the price is around half the cost of a new MacPro.

I would like to upgrade the Processor to a Quad, more RAM (8-12 gigs) and a the latest graphics card POSSIBLE for this machine.

Has anyone done with lately on a Dual Core with success? What did you buy?

I know very little about what will work with my computer.

I need your guys expertise on upgrading components or buying new next year.

ohproi.png

xStep

macrumors 68020
Jan 28, 2003
Less lost in L.A.
You should mention to people what editing software you are using. It may result in better answers. For instance, Final Cut cannot access more than 4GB of RAM, so upgrading that likely won't gain you much if anything.

The graphics card might give the biggest boost, short or swapping out the processors for quad versions. I'd like to hear from someone with those experiences.

You might also want to mention your workflow and where it slows down so people can understand how you are processing those AVCHD files. Perhaps someone can suggest a better method.

Cost wise, you might be better off buying the new quad iMac instead of a new tower. Its performance is competitive with some of the towers Apple currently sells. And since your hanging out at a rumor site, you're aware that new Mac Pros are not far off.

thedirtyduo

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 17, 2007
Fcp

Thanks, I'm using Final Cut Pro 7 - Snow Leopard

I'm also looking to improve rendering time as well.