Upgrade nMP : 2667v2, 2690v2 or 2695v2

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Amethyst, Dec 18, 2017.

  1. Amethyst macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    #1
    I want to upgrade my quad 3.7 nMP CPU under $350 budget so there are 3 choices for me:

    E5-2667 v2 8-core 3.3
    E5-2690 v2 10-core 2.8
    and E5-2695 v2 12-core 2.5

    I mainly use this mac for:

    iPhone, Android App development.
    Photoshop for web/app design.
    Daily internet surfing.

    What CPU i must choose?
     
  2. joelypolly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne & Shanghai
    #2
    I have the E5-2690 v2 10-core 3.0 and its pretty good but if I were to pick again I would probably get the 2667v2 since it boosts to 4.0Ghz. 4 extra threads does come in useful sometimes though
     
  3. Kris Kelvin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #3
  4. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    I don't have the E5-2695 v2 in the Mac Pro CPU compatibility list. Should it be added?
     
  5. Kris Kelvin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #5
    I believe so. I've seen reports on this forum of people using this CPU and there's a bunch of Geekbench results.
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    Okay, will do. I take reports in the forum as decent enough evidence.

    Unfortunately Geekbench doesn't mean anything since it is possible to spoof reports. For example there are "Mac Pro" reports with CPUs using architectures that don't even exist in a Mac.
     
  7. RyanXM macrumors 6502

    RyanXM

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
  8. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #8
    Nice - any issues?
     
  9. RyanXM macrumors 6502

    RyanXM

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #9
    It has been stable since the upgrade about a month ago. It is an AST Server, HandBrake Encoder, and runs a few VMs. Runs great and I have the fan at 1500rpm and it rarely sees anything over 65c.
     
  10. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #10
    Just checked eBay - not bad for $200 upgrade. This poor machine gets a lot of hate, but I love mine!

    Had to look up AST, hadn't heard of it before. I have a ton of questions - will start a new thread.
     
  11. RyanXM macrumors 6502

    RyanXM

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Location:
    DFW, TX
  12. MarkJames68 macrumors 6502

    MarkJames68

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #12
    I have the 2667 and am very pleased with it. I would choose that or the 10 core if you are going to upgrade.
     
  13. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #13
    Ha! Went off down a rabbit hole. I imagine this is a netboot server for ailing Macs to boot from and run diagnostics. Never mind.
     
  14. Macinsquatch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    #14
    I bought the 2690, so far it's been rock solid and over 30k on geekbench. Found mine on eBay for $300.
     
  15. Naimfan, Dec 22, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2017

    Naimfan Suspended

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #15
    Not to thread hijack, but is there likely to be any difference in heat or noise between the 2667 and the 2690?

    PS - I do realize the TDP is the same.
     
  16. MarkJames68 macrumors 6502

    MarkJames68

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #16
    I doubt there would be any...
     
  17. Macinsquatch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    #17
    The TDP is 130 watt for these processors so it shouldn't change. I have only ever had one time I overheated the beast but that was full load on the CPU and both GPUs for days. Not a common workload for most so I don't think you will ever see any issues.
     
  18. MarkJames68 macrumors 6502

    MarkJames68

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2017
    #18
    Did you manually crank the fan to high? I’ve found that on my system it is way too slow to ramp up under a lot of load.
     
  19. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #19
    Can you say what the workload was?
     
  20. Naimfan Suspended

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #20
    Not the OP, but I went with the E5-2667. Realistically, I doubt it will make much of a difference from 8 to 10 cores for me; and while the sample size is small it seems that 8 core MPs have more resale value than the 10 core machines.
     
  21. saulinpa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #21
    For resale value putting in a CPU that Apple didn't offer can cause some to shy away. E5-2667 might not be noticed, but a 10-core would be. Especially since they wouldn't normally be searching for a 10 core.
     
  22. Naimfan, Dec 24, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2017

    Naimfan Suspended

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #22

    --- Post Merged, Dec 24, 2017 ---
    Yep, I figured it was time to get one to experiment with, so bought a new 4 core from OWC. For under $1500, why not?

    Just thinking down the road - I'd like to be able to (mostly) get out of it when the newest MP is released (if ever).
     
  23. Macinsquatch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    #23
    I was running Photoscan pro on a large dataset (3000+ photos). Not enough thermal headroom in the new mac pro so the CPU at times was at 200 degrees. Depending on the instruction set (AVX) you can get the CPU pretty hot, and with both GPU's at 100% load it doesn't take long to heat soak the machine. I had the fan at maximum the whole time and had to open a window (Alaska winter) to cool the room down to about 60 degrees to maintain acceptable temperatures.
     
  24. FourMoons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    #24
    Late to this thread, but I'm thinking about doing the same thing - buying a 4-Core and upgrading it. My only concern is that I want to be able to run 3 4K monitors without any issues. Does anyone have any experience with the D300s and 4k monitors?
     
  25. adonis3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    #25
    Looking at these to upgrade mine but the E5-1660 v2 is expensive, the 8c and 12c is cheaper but not sure which to get.
     

Share This Page

30 December 18, 2017