Upgrade or "If it ain't broke..."

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kajitox, May 23, 2011.

1. kajitox macrumors 6502a

kajitox

Fellow mac enthusiasts, I have more of a discussion topic than a question. I am a student finishing undergraduate work and as such I am working on the computer that was purchased before coming to undergrad, 4 years ago (2007 SR MBP). It's running alright since I upgraded the RAM (4gb) and installed a new HDD (7200rpm) somewhere in the middle of college... however, the great debate begins in my head (as of 2 years ago): when do I upgrade?

The biggest problem seems to be that I can't find a convincing argument for why I need to drop the money on a new computer if the one I have that works... This of course glosses over the other problem, which is that I desperately want a new computer (iMac + iPad combo to replace it) and could use the processing power for non-job-related photo processing (PS+Lightroom).

Without a full time job (I'll be pursuing graduate work, so I don't see full-time, salaried employment for a while), the question gets harder, since now I'd probably have to consider long(er) term payments on the computer...

Alas, the problems of moving out of blissful childhood and having to manage finances! What say you, peanut gallery? Is this something that most of you take the opinion of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it," i.e., if the old computer functions, don't replace it... or do most of you suck up the payment plans/credit card bills/etc. and get the upgrade?

2. ShivneelSingh macrumors member

I'm currently an undergrad student, almost graduated. My roommate and I both have MacBooks, about three years old and they still work like the day we bought them. However, my roommate just caved and bought the new Sandy Bridge MacBook, but we don't see ANY major difference between them. There are a few advantages during video editing (especially in HD) but no much of a difference doing photo-editing or everyday work.