Upgrade or no?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Airboy1466, Nov 11, 2018.

1. Airboy1466 macrumors 6502

Airboy1466

Currently i have a base model MBA '13 (2015) and a base model MBP "15 (2015). Both machines are nearing the ends of their Apple care cycles MBA expiring December 7th of this year and the MBP march 6th of next year. With both warranties expiring i think its time for a new machine but I would like to much rather purchase 1 instead of two this time.

MY Usage

In college I used my MBA as a daily laptop that i carried in my back pack to take notes on campus and do homework assignments on the go. with that said i have a battery cycle count of 450 on this daily machine.

I used my MBP for its bigger screen as it was more relaxing on the eyes with it amazing retina display and it was a great laptop to sit and watch movies or netflix in bed, as well as to sit and continuously type 10 page papers. a battery cycle count of 151 as it never left my apt.

side note neither machine has ever had the fans come on as i do not do CPU or GPU intensive task.

With this information give which Macbook should i go with this go around for the next 3 years?

There isn't really a budget as I will be selling both of these machines to put towards my next one.

2. 1096bimu macrumors 6502

1096bimu

Some people just don't seem to know how to spend their money, Why buy two expensive laptops that are hardly any different? If you wanted a bigger screen just get a screen for the MBA?
    And now you want a 2018 MBP, the only real difference being that it's thinner, but you don't even take your 15" laptop out of the dorm so what's the point?

You also seem to have the latest and greatest iPhone which again seems pointless since you have the MBP15 to entertain why did you need such a high-end phone with the biggest screen?