upgrade PowerMac G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by zet831, Mar 12, 2015.

  1. zet831 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    #1
    what videocard can be install on PowerMac G5 11.2 and what is better ??

    two variants - Radeon X1950 XTX 512Mb PCI-E or NVIDIA Quadro FX4500 512Mb PCI-E ???

    thanks!!
     
  2. desantii macrumors 6502

    desantii

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Location:
    Aurora, IL
    #2
    What about the FireGl3 from ATI? I think its the same as an X800?
     
  3. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    The x1950 xtx 512mb would require a hacked bios and flashing

    The fx4500 quadro for G5 is a drop in. I have one in my G5, and works very well.

    Other cards are the nvidia 7800gt for G5, and ati x1900gt for G5.

    The only official card for G5 with 512mb is the quadro fx4500.
     
  4. zet831 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    #4
    what is FIREGI3 ? Sorry I bad understand PPC and Mac World

    i know that, flashing videocard on PC !!

    ----------


    Please say how hacked and flashing X1950XTX! Im buying tomorrow this videocard, but not sure running on my G5
     
  5. catzilla macrumors 6502

    catzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #5
    What's the best card for a PM G5 7,3? How about a GeForce 6600?
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Those cards are AGP only and will not work in a late-2005 G5.

    One of the best Mac cards for that model is the ATI X850.
     
  7. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #7
    Just finished trolling on ebay, there are a ton of fx4500 quadro's, I assume that the ones that have no mention of Mac are for Windows PC's but are probably flash-able.
    Am I close?
    Now the cards that say for Mac Pro, will these work as a drop-in for a G5 quad?

    Sorry for what might sound like basic questions, but a few years ago when I was in my early-mid seventies I probably would have had a better grip on this stuff.
     
  8. bax2003, Mar 12, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2015

    bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #8
    Be careful with Quadro FX 4500 for G5. There are two versions of that card with 512MB, one with memory on both sides of PCB, and one (newer model) with memory just on top side.

    For G5, you want model with memory on both sides, at least that is what i found out....I am looking for graphics card for my G5....

    http://g5center.net/index.php?post=the-fx4500--your-g5

    Unfortunately, I do not know why, nobody wants to share ROM files for X1950XT...
     
  9. Orizence macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #9
    Don't get the XTX as there is no guarantee that the rom will be compatible (the xt uses gddr3 vs the xtx with its gddr4). I recommend either getting the x1900xt, x1900gt, or 1950xt. I bought the x1900xt for around $25. Just beware that you will only be able to access 256mb of memory on the card.
     
  10. Surrat, Mar 12, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2015

    Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #10
    There are four versions of the quadro fx4500, only two of them can work in a G5.

    The mac pro version will NOT work on a G5, dont even bother with it.

    PC version can be flashed provided its the one with ram on both sides of the pcb.

    Of course the genuine G5 version is rare, and expensive, but they do show up occasionally. The G5 one always will have the metal reinforced fiberglass extension on it. Any quadro fx4500 you see without the extension is a pc version.

    Flashing is ok as long as its done properly. I have a genuine mac fx4500 and a pc one with ram on both sides. Studying the cards, they are absolutely the same, I could find nothing different on the pcb's.

    I'll stand by this dealer, I bought one in the past, and it works perfectly in the G5:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-Mac-G...662?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3efd369b26

    ----------

    The fastest PPC opengl card I know of is the apple AGP x850xt that was available as a custom option on the last 7,3 systems. In opengl performance it even beats the quadro fx4500. Since graphics in OSX are all opengl, thats really the only benchmark that matters to me.
     
  11. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #11
    Just so I've got this straight, the picture below is of a genuine G5 version, and others without that extension even if advertised as for Macs will be flashed PC cards.
     

    Attached Files:

    • r.jpg
      r.jpg
      File size:
      83.9 KB
      Views:
      226
  12. Surrat, Mar 12, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2015

    Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #12
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-Mac-G...198?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4ae59f778e
    This one is a genuine G5 card, note the ram heatsink on the back of the card, the metal braced extension, and on the bracket header where the dvi ports are you can see the apple style labels and "3D" for the 3d glasses port, you can also see the header is not bright chrome like the pc versions, its dull silver to match the G5/mac pro.

    Just keep in mind that the G5 version, and mac pro version look almost the same. G5 has ram chips on the back of the card, with a metal heatsink covering them, mac pro version has no ram on the back and no heatsink there either. And, yes, if its got no extension, 99.9% chance its a flashed PC card. Why would anybody remove the extension on a genuine card? makes no sense. Again tho, a properly flashed PC card is functionally exactly like the apple one, and will not give you any problems.

    Looks like Dell, HP, and IBM used extensions on their cards too. The HP and IBM use a different metal brace from what apple uses. Dell uses a different fiberglass part, it has a large cutout on the bottom. The apple one is a square shape, without the cutout on the bottom, and the square shaped metal end that fits into the case support.
     
  13. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #13
  14. zet831 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
  15. Surrat macrumors 6502

    Surrat

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Location:
    United States
    #15
  16. zet831 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    #16
    :( search PNY Quadro FX 4500 X2 on 1GB MEMORY ! im crying that she too not working :(
     

Share This Page