Upgrade Processor in 09 MP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jonnysods, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. jonnysods macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #1
    Hey everyone, I have the 2.66 quad core nehalem and I was wondering how easy it would be to open up the MP and get a higher clocked chip to put in it.

    Has anyone out there attempted this? Is it as easy as say opening up a PC and getting to the CPU in the motherboard and swapping it out?

    Also - would newegg be the best place to find a stock CPU?

    Thanks all.
     
  2. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Yes you can use any Xeon 3500 or Core i7 quad core processor. There are quite a few threads on here about it and what it involves.
     
  3. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    IF you stick with the W35xx parts, Yes.

    The newer W36xx parts won't with the current firmware (no suppport for the newer parts <B1 steppings>, and I'd be amazed if Apple offers an update).
     
  4. Roman23 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    #4
    I am sure.. someone on here,.

    Will provide that information.. it won't be Apple, but i am sure someone will come up with how to do this.. and since the 2010 is identical to the same parts the 09 uses.. once we know the location of the efi rom.. then it will make it easier.. however, if its on the processor tray, then its a no brainer.. get the revised processor tray with the firmware and remove the 09 original and stick the new on in its place - voila!


     
  5. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #5
    Buying a replacement part (the one that contains the ROM chip) for the newer system would work. Not exactly an inexpensive proposition though (no matter which board, just in case they soldered it to the main logic board, rather than the daughterboard <daughterboard makes much more sense>).

    As per the idea of a member providing a Flash method, maybe, maybe not. No guarantees on this one.
     
  6. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    well if someone wants to, I got an idea ready for flashing 2007 EFI into the 2006 mac pro. if it works it could be adapted for flashing 2010 on 2009 board. But this will take a long time because no one wants to be guinea pig. I have sold my macpro 2006...

    if anyone with 2006 mac pro wants to test, its fast and relatively safe (you can restore EFI if something goes wrong) then PM
     
  7. Roman23 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    #7
    Are you sure?

    That if the rom is on the processor tray, it will indeed work without any problems? Thats if it is on the processor tray which you say should make sense.. even if its on the logic board.. the logic board is only going to be around 700 dollars but compared to the price of the westmere itself.. it does make for a good replacement.. either of them for sure..


     
  8. Roman23 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    #8
    Cindori..

    What exactly is your plan? And taken if this works for 2007-2006, then it should also work for 2008-2007, then 2009-2008, and finally 2010-2009.

    note: doing this for the 2007 from a 2008 will provide EFI64 which would forever change the 06 and 07 to support virtually any EFI64 graphics card.. a worthy update.


     
  9. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    Assuming nothing else changed on the main logic board (identical parts in both the 2009 and 2010 systems), Yes. But a part substitution such as a semiconductor, it may or may not work.
     
  10. Roman23 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    #10
    Please elaborate a little.. semiconductor change?

    Are you referring to the processor tray or the backplane logic board? Assuming if the backplane logic board is the same in every detail.. and the rom is on the processor tray near the processor, then it should work without any problems.


     
  11. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #11
    Yes.

    If none of the parts used on this board were changed (the board that's screwed to the standoffs on the non-removable aluminum panel on the inside of the case). This is what I consider the main logic board, as that's where the PCIe slots and other connections available to the user are located (save the DIMM slots).
     
  12. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #12
    the 2008 is a different motherboard and that EFI would surely not carry data for 2006/2007 motherboard. so it would probably not run. efi manages more then just cpu, it manages the whole board.

    my idea is a simple double-click and update efi. I really don't want to get into details because its easily for apple to prevent. if you want more info or to help, just pm.
     
  13. jonnysods thread starter macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #13
    I'm just wondering where I could get a good set of instructions and a list of compatible CPU's for the 09 MP's. I'm not ready to put in a hack EFI (when it comes out that is).

    Just so I can price it out. For example someone said that I can use the i7, but is it as good as a Xeon? Or cheaper?

    I'm not lazy - I'll do my own looking around for prices etc. Just looking for an expert to point me in the right direction.

    Thanks guys!
     
  14. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #14
    The W35xx or i7-9xx Quad core parts (all are 45nm, LGA1366, and D0 steppings, which will work with your system's firmware).

    Take a look at ark.intel.com for the part information (specifications, including steppings if you look to the left side of the page).
    • Type W35 in the search bar (upper right corner), and it will list out the parts in that group.
    • Do the same using i7-9 (ignore the i7-980X, as that's a Hex core part that will come up in this search).

    Then search out retail prices on the models you're interested in. ;)
     
  15. jonnysods thread starter macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #15
    Flip those are expensive.

    I think I'll wait for the next generation to come out and then I'll check prices. It's just an upgrade from a 2.66 to a 3.2. Not worth the price for that kind of difference....

    Thank you everyone for your help though.
     

Share This Page