Upgrade RAM - iMac 21.5

Discussion in 'iMac' started by guklein, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. guklein macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #1
    Hello,

    My iMac 21.5 has 4GB RAM. I want to upgrade it to 8GB RAM. Could I put any brand of RAM?

    If I buy 2x2GB Crucial, is there any problem if the others 4GB installed in my iMac are from another brand?

    Thanks!
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Any brand will do as long as its the right type. You can mix brands (and sizes!).
     
  3. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #3
    You say I can mix sizes. It means I can put 1x4GB instead 2x2GB? Even iMac is 2x2GB default...thats it?

    Thanks!
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    Yes. 1X4GB or 2X2GB or 1X4GB and 1X1GB or any combination.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    provided they are all 1066MHz 204-pin SO-DIMM DDR3 you will be fine :)

    you probably should look at macsales.com - they have the best prices going around lately and offer great warranties.
     
  6. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #6
    And is it a good idea to upgrade to 8GB? Any idea what is the default RAM brand?

    Thanks!
     
  7. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #7
    pretty sure it's nuram.

    8gb is a nice upgrade if you're big into multitasking. Ever since I've had 8gigs of ram I've never gotten a page out. However the biggest upgrade for the iMacs would be getting an SSD.
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    yuupers you are correcteo :D

    nice nice. i will eventually upgrade to 12GB i think - hopefully soon. page outs are bloody annoying
    some wouldnt consider that an upgrade ;) :cool:
     
  9. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    yea maybe. i think my 6TB would cover it :rolleyes:

    theres just something about having everything locally stored, externals annoy me lol.
     
  11. Gregintosh macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago
    #11
    Having everything [at least critical things] stored externally AND backed up makes me sleep easier. Not to mention it makes it much easier to switch computers, format, or do any crazy ol' thing. Its just liberating.

    Having it local is convenient but its risky! Of course that only applies if you have no backup or option to backup.
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    lol, of course. i feel safe - as my main systems are backed up (uni work, etc) onto my TC. my movies reside on a 2TB RAID1 (2x2TB) external enclosure and i have another ~3TB for random crap, DVD rips waiting to be converted into .m4v, downloads, yada yada. :) satisfied lol? :cool: :D
     
  13. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #13
    OK, I am going to buy more 2x2GB RAM to upgrade my iMac 21.5 to 8GB.

    What is the best option? Crucial, Nuram ou other?

    Thanks!
     
  14. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #14
    They're all pretty much the same thing. Get the best deal-- which is usually nuram.
     
  15. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #15
    yea they seem ok. owc offers a life time warranty for them i think - so you are getting a great deal.

    luckily i found something cheaper over here in australia :)
     
  16. JPG54 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Location:
    Lower Alabama
    #16
    I second this. I just added a Nu Ram 4GB stick from OWC for $125.99. Not bad if I say so myself, especially compared to all the other offerings.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newer%20Technology/8566DDR3S4GB/
     
  17. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
  18. JPG54 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Location:
    Lower Alabama
    #18
    So far, I could not be happier. Performance has been great! I can really tell a difference going form 4GB to 8GB. And, I have had ZERO stability issues.

    I am very pleased! :D
     
  19. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    Hehe awsome man. I too shall be moving to 8gb, and hopefully 12gb in the not to distant future!!

    Do you know if the ram needs to be CL7 or CL9?
     
  20. JPG54 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Location:
    Lower Alabama
    #20
    Cool beans dude! I think you will definitely like the performance boost.

    Everything I have seen lists CL-7...
     
  21. dexthageek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #21
    Yup! Cas Latency 7
     
  22. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #22
    I get a good deal with Crucial. I'm going to buy them.

    Is there any difference upgrading to 8GB with 1x4GB instead 2x2GB?
     
  23. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #23
    Shared Video Memory!

    Another doubt...iMac 21.5 (low end model) has a shared video memory, right?

    Is there a way to setup how many of memory I dedicate to video? I guess in windows it is possible.

    Thanks!
     
  24. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #24
    cool thanks guys. shall be ordering this in a matter of minutes ;) should be a nice boost i hope. sometimes i have >8GB total swap memory - and >30GB page outs hahaha. so its long overdue!

    yea 256MB max for the 4670 - i daresay you could change it in windows, no known way of doing it on OSX side of things.
     
  25. guklein thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #25
    If you (guys) had to choose to upgrade to 8GB, would put 2x2GB or 1x4GB?
    :confused:
     

Share This Page