upgrade ram or get new macbook pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aj287772, Jun 18, 2015.

  1. aj287772 macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #1
    So I have a macbook pro mid 2012 and was wondering if I should upgrade the ram on it to load my games faster aswell as loading speeds for websites and to help speed up things when I multitask because my computer freezes a lot if I'm loading a website while have 7 other tabs open or sometimes just playing a game when trying to research stuff on the side e.c.t. Down below are my specs: Processor: 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5
    memory: 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
    startup disk: Mactintosh HD
    Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 4000 1024 MB

    Also I would like to have my computer be able to have above 40 fps in games like arma and stuff like that. Would that mean I would have to upgrade to the new macbook pro? I'am not sure if upgrading ram will help with fps (I think it won't) so will that mean I would need to upgrade to the may 21st macbook pro 2015 to get better game performance? If I were to upgrade my ram which is currently 4gb 2gbx2 should I upgrade to 8gb ram or 16gb ram. I heard going to 16 won't make much of a difference and to stay with 8gb ram. What would you reccomend? Should I just get a New May 21st macbook pro 2015? Also maybe its my processor or graphics card with the fps issue? If I wanted to upgrade my ram processor and Graphics card should I just upgrade to the new macbook pro? Would more ram atlas satisfy me? most of my games are fine but some games I play a lot and would like more fps. Issues: spinning rainbow thing pops up a lot
    keyboard and trackpad don't work at login when mac boots up. (have to turn mac to sleep 3 times before those functions start to work again)
     
  2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #2
    No matter what upgrades you do, you won't be able to improve game performance, because your MBP does not have a discrete GPU, and there is no way to add one at a reasonable cost. So basically, you can forget about improving game FPS. Period. If you want to do decent gaming, you'll need at least a 15", because the Iris Pro iGPU is way more powerful. Having an R9 M370X dGPU will be even faster and you can play some decent games (like BF4 or GTA V) at medium settings.

    You can improve overall system performance in other areas such as boot times and app launching, by getting an SSD. Get a Samsung 850 Evo or a Crucial BX100 (or the pricier MX100/200). It'll do wonders.

    More RAM won't help if your RAM pressure is green.
     
  3. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #3
    ?
    So on activity monitor it is yellow and it says 3.68 memory used and above it says physical memory 4.00 gb. Do you think I should upgrade my ram? what would make a bigger difference upgrading ram or getting an SSD? I would imagine getting an SSD would be more expensive correct? just want to make sure. Also when you were talking about discrete GPU what does that mean? So there is integrated GPU which is my I5 Gpu and the I stands for integrated and then there is another GPU that has the letter d in it standing for discrete? Also, when you said I need a 15'' Iris Pro IGPU does that mean if I want the Iris Pro IGPU I need a 15 inch screen? Basically what i am trying to say is that when a GPU such as the Iris iGPU the i before GPU means integrated and the dGPU means disc
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    If it's yellow, then yes, you're just about to run out of RAM. Upgrading to an SSD will make a massive difference, but yes, it's pricey (not that pricey though, a 250GB Crucial BX100 goes for around USD95 or so (Amazon).

    Use these RAM sticks: http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-4GBx2...1434677556&sr=8-1&keywords=2x4GB+DDR3+1600MHz
     
  5. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #5
    Hi,

    For the sake of reassurance:

    Framerates is strictly GPU. If this is what you are after you should be looking at something with at least a dedicated chip in the first place as mentioned. This isn't to say that integrated chips cannot run games efficiently, but generally speaking, especially in terms of more modern games, you would want it to be dedicated as it provides better performance. It's good to keep in mind that currently what Apple offers as the highest option for a dedicated card is still only a mid-range GPU. It will struggle with modern AAA games even though it is a 2015 model notebook.

    I would upgrade your RAM as yj suggested, and +1 to further upgrading your system with a SSD if funds allow and you're looking for performance increases and are unlikely to go for a new machine solely for its GPU.

    I hope this helps.
     
  6. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #6
    little update on activity monitor the memory pressure turned green. I think its because I closed down a few applications but do you think I should still upgrade? Also what would be a good SSD for 500 GB?
     
  7. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #7
    Not intentionally hijacking this quote but the more the merrier in my opinion:

    Upgrading your RAM won't hurt, and will help as you seem likely to approach your limit by what you've reported. It's fairly cheap to upgrade to 8GB. As far as SSDs, most will probably recommend Samsung (specifically 850 EVO or PRO) and that should do fine of course. I like Crucial drives also. Take a look at the BX100.

    I hope this helps.
     
  8. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #8
    so is there a Crucial drive that does 500 gb?
     
  9. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #9
    Yep, the Crucial BX100 or MX200. I'd recommend the BX100 if you do want to go with Crucial.
     
  10. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #10
    A Crucial BX100 500GB. Relatively inexpensive and almost as fast.
     
  11. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #11
    Also would you happen to know if these were dedicated? what does discrete or dedicated mean?
     
  12. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
  13. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #13
    so
    is Crucial discrete
     
  14. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #14
    So I was looking at the Crucial BX100 ram so would that ram go on my computer without the crucial bx100 SSD? and is the Crucial SSD discrete?
     
  15. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #15
    What do you mean discrete or not? There is no such term when it comes to hard drives.

    Crucial BX100 is an SSD. It goes into your hard drive bay.

    The RAM is also from Crucial. It goes into the RAM slots of your system.

    Dedicated/discrete graphics means the same thing - it means a separate graphics chip/GPU. Your computer does NOT have a dedicated GPU, and you cannot add one. There is absolutely NO WAY to improve gaming performance. The only way to do so is to buy a 15" retina MacBook Pro. Only the 15" can handle decent gaming.
     
  16. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #16
    look at this website http://computers.toptenreviews.com/gaming-laptops/graphics-cards-integrated-vs.-dedicated.html

    so if I wanted to install the Crucial BX100 I would have to remove my HDD and put my SSD in replace of it? and for the ram on the website when it says spacer does that mean height because my MacBook Pro mid 2012 is 0.95 inch high and the SSD Crucial Bx100 says 2.5" (7 mm) SSD 7 mm – 9.5 mm spacer so is the height the spacer?
     
  17. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #17
    whoops I didn't see what you said at the end
     
  18. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #18
    so can I install the bx100 with my current computer? and if so it would just make my computer load things faster?
     
  19. yjchua95, Jun 18, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2015

    yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #19
    Yes, everything will load very fast. Boot-up times will be around 11 seconds or so, and apps will launch instantly. You don't need a spacer, spudger or anything. All you need is a Crucial BX100, a Phillips 00 screwdriver, Torx T6 screwdriver and that's it.

    Here's a video guide:

    NOTE: The video mentions a Torx T6 screwdriver. Make sure you get one.

    For re-installation of OS X, you also should have another USB stick ready as the OS installer (minimum 8GB). You have to download Yosemite off the Mac App Store and make the bootable USB stick using DiskMakerX: http://diskmakerx.com

    This app will automate the process to create the bootable USB stick. So all you need is the Yosemite installer app downloaded off the Mac App Store, an 8GB USB stick and DiskMaker X.

    Then after doing this, install the SSD.

    After installing the SSD, stick the USB stick into a USB port and start up the computer. Upon hearing the boot chime, hold down Option on the keyboard and select the USB installer. Once booted into it, select the language and open Disk Utility. Select the SSD you installed and format it as Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Then quit it and install OS X.
     
  20. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #20
    but on the website there is no tutorial for the 2012 mid macbook pro does that mean it can't be done?
     
  21. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #21
    See my edited post right above yours. I posted a video. The instructions are the same for 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 MacBook Pros. These MacBook Pros use identical instructions since the layout is exactly the same.
     
  22. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #22
    ok, also if I were to sell the x100 how much money would I be able to resell for?
     
  23. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #23
    What about my bootcamp? would that be removed also?
     
  24. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #24
    If you clone your original hard drive beforehand it'll still be there. If you replace your original drive with the SSD it's not like all your stuff is magically going to reappear, you have to backup everything first...
     
  25. aj287772 thread starter macrumors member

    aj287772

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #25
    So if i cloned my hard drive I would still keep os X and bootcamp instead of downloading them again?
     

Share This Page