Upgrade Ram to 3GB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dextor143, Aug 27, 2009.

  1. Dextor143 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I have MBP Aluminum body, 2.33GHz, Intel Duo Core with 2GB Ram...I can only upgrade to 3GB, I want to know if that is ok to do so or not...I have read some where that 3GB means 2GB on 1 slot and 1GB on the other slot can run your system unbalance. Can someone help me here....

    Thanks
     
  2. safetyobc macrumors 6502

    safetyobc

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #2
    I was looking at that this morning as I have the same problem. I have the 2.2 GHz MPB Santa Rosa.

    Not sure if I would even see a difference from 2 to 3 GB though? Not running a ton of applications at the same time. Just Mail, Safari and iTunes mostly.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    More RAM is always a good thing if you can afford it. Personally I'd prefer going to 4 GB but 3 GB is an improvement.
     
  4. safetyobc macrumors 6502

    safetyobc

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #4
    I don't think his (or my) MBP will accept 4GB of RAM. If I read right on my research it says 3 is all that is supported.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  6. Dextor143 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    I can only go up to 3GB. But the question is that is that a smart move...I do not want my system to freezes all the time.
     

Share This Page