Upgrade RAM to start?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AppleFan922, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. AppleFan922 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I just received my new MBP today, I haven't opened it yet because I've been at work. I already have my upgraded memory for it, waiting for me to put it in. Am I better off installing it right out of the box, or should I install my backup on it first and then install the RAM? Thanks for your help guys!!
     
  2. MrJolly macrumors member

    MrJolly

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    I live next door, England
    #2
    Check it works before opening it up.
     
  3. dakine17 macrumors newbie

    dakine17

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #3
    i'm in the same predicament too. Been boxed up for 2 weeks now and waiting for my RAM to come in.
     
  4. weemanpow3 macrumors 6502

    weemanpow3

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #4
    When I had my MBP replaced due to a faulty track pad, Apple gave me a brand new one in the box. The first thing I did was install my 8gb ram into the machine without starting it the first time out of the box. Everything is perfectly fine.
     
  5. Bobby Corwen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #5
    It doesn't matter either way.

    For the slight sake of efficiency I would say install the RAM and make it fresh first, good to go.

    The memory might slightly help with the speed of the backup install :)
     

Share This Page