Upgrade router and/or cable modem?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by sdilley14, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. sdilley14 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    #1
    I posted a similar thread in regards to setting up a NAS, but I want to put that aside and see if it is even worth my time/money to upgrade my network equipment.

    Here is what I have...

    http://www.amazon.com/Netgear-WGR614NA-WGR614-Wireless-G-Router/dp/B00008SCFL

    http://www.amazon.com/Zoom-5241-Cab...2089650&sr=1-1&keywords=zoom+1051+cable+modem

    I'm considering upgrading to an AirPort Extreme. As far as the cable modem goes, I'm not sure what would be best to upgrade to.

    I'm wondering if it is really even worth my time/money to upgrade at all. In all honesty, the set up I have now has been very, very stable. I can't remember the last time I had to unplug/reset the modem or router because of connectivity issues. I'm sort of thinking "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". On the other hand, this is some pretty dated hardware. The router isn't even N capable. As far as the cable modem goes...I really don't know anything about cable modems and I have no idea if it would be beneficial to get a new one. My set up has been stable and useable, but I do feel at times that my connection speeds are a bit weak, I get some lagging while gaming online, download speeds are slow at times, etc. I know speeds mostly hinge on the connection from the ISP. I have a 30MB connection and I typically get about half that whenever I do speed tests...14-15MB down, 3MB up.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. Giuly, Feb 28, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2014

    Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #2
    If you don't up your plan to something faster, you don't have to upgrade the modem. If you do, get a Cisco.
     
  3. sdilley14 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    #3
    I'd like to up it to something faster but 30MB is about as fast as we can get in my area. :/

    So having an N capable router as opposed to G, and an updated modem, really wouldn't have much of a noticeable difference considering my connection speed from my ISP?
     
  4. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #4
    For the WiFi side it would make a difference. If you upgrade to an AirPort Extreme you'll likely get close to those 30MBit/s, and it also extends the range of your WiFi, but a new modem won't change anything at all.
     
  5. sdilley14 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    #5
    That makes sense. I'll likely just stay with the same modem and upgrade the router since a lot of what I do is wireless. It'd also be nice to have a router with the ability to have a storage device attached to it.
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Who is your cable Internet provider? Do they support DOCSIS 3.0? If they do, you might help with your speed problems to get a new DOCSIS 3.0 modem like the Motorola SB6141. DOCSIS 3 allows channel bonding and that can help if you are not getting your full speeds due network congestion.

    This site has very through reviews of wireless routers and NAS devices. Might help you decide.
     
  7. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #7
    AFAIK, cable providers only enable DOCSIS3.0 when you're on faster plans that require it, as one channel is 50MBit/s down without throttling. The Cisco above was DOCSIS3.0, too, for that matter.
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    You are mistaken. This certainly may vary by ISP, but I know from personal experience with Time Warner cable that even a 10/2 plan in my area will bond four downstream channels if you use a DOCSIS 3 cable modem.

    I had not noticed that, but I'm not sure what your point is.
     
  9. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #9
    You're right, the same goes for Cox and Comcast. Yet, I doubt that this will help with 30MBit/s cable, as the real culprit is 802.11g here.
     

Share This Page