Upgrade to 3.1.2

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jimmy83, Oct 17, 2009.

  1. jimmy83 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #1
    Running 3.0 on my 3G on O2, want to update to 3.1.2 and iam going to use blackra1n.

    Do I need to upgrade to 3.1.2 in iTunes first? I use this site, and it doesnt mention it here - http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=5527

    I also want to set up as a new phone, on doing so I belive I will lose all my notes/contacts/sms', is there a way of backing these up then transferign them back once ive set up as a new phone?

    Thanks for the advice
     
  2. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #3
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    If you sync/backup your phone before you update, then your contacts, calendar, music, movies, apps, etc will all be put back on your phone when you sync after the update.
     
  4. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #5
    Ah thats cool, didnt know itunes back up that!

    So I will just lose all my settings and game/app settings. Hmmm think I can live with that.
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    Just make sure when you do your last sync/backup before JB, that you go thru the tabs that come up when your phone is plugged in and that everything you want to get back is check marked.

    Texts don't sync bu there is a way to manually back those up.
    Remember your photos

    Good luck
     
  6. B737 macrumors 6502a

    B737

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    #7
    when you click restore, then when your prompted to set up as a new phone, itunes will sync your notes and contacts regardless. Its going to get your notes if they were synced with outlook, and it'll pull your contacts from wherever they were synced last as well.

    so theres not much to worry about, i did a manual back up of notes via SSH and didnt even need it.
     
  7. Nine9si macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A400 Safari/528.16)

    Not worth the upgrade. Stick with what you have until a real update comes up.
     
  8. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #9
    Notes are not backed up elsewhere, tried to use google sync to keep a spare copy off my contacts a while back but suffered problems and was left with a duplicate contact list-and still do?! :(
     
  9. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #10
    Yes I see your point, quite happy on 3.0 but not restored or ever set up as new since ive had my iPhone 3G model-and iam hoping upgrading to 3.1.2 will speed up my phone a little
     
  10. B737 macrumors 6502a

    B737

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    #11
    im noticing zero speed increase. the OS is seemingly the exact same. safari appears so as well...
    3.0 was really stable for me, my only excuse for upgrading was boredom
     
  11. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #12
    Anyone know why iam having this issue with google sync?
     
  12. B737 macrumors 6502a

    B737

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    #13
    If u want to get rid of double contacts, in iTunes under ur phone on one of the tabs at the bottom u can select 'a one time overwrite' of ur contacts. That should clear it up
     
  13. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #14
    Where abouts is this option?

    In 'info' somewhere?
     
  14. B737 macrumors 6502a

    B737

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    #15
    Sorry that wasn't very clear, I'm not at my pc :-/

    plug your phone in, select it in iTunes, in one of the tabs that appear in the main iTunes window, it will be an option down at the bottom. I had to scroll down inside the tab to get to it. It'll say something like 'next time phone is plugged in allow a one time overwrite of: ... ' Then u can click boxes for contacts ect...

    I'm sorry that wasn't much better than my initial post!
     
  15. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #16
    Still cant see where you mean? :confused:
     

Share This Page