Upgrade to 8GB:) failed :(

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Jb9527, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. Jb9527 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    #1
    I bought "Allcomponents" 2X4GB ddr3 1066MHz memory from newegg. I tried to replace the 2X1GB chips in the 2010 mid macbook. When I inserted the two new chips and turned it on, it kept beeping. And then, I removed one chip and left one in either slot, it still kept beeping. And then, I added one 1GB chip to form a 1+4 GB combination, it worked! And then, I changed the 4GB to the other one, it still worked. And the os X can recognize the 5GB.

    Strange, right?

    Do I need to buy any special model designed for macbooks?
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    MacBook Pro or MacBook? You can't put 8GB in a MB afaik.

    Yes, go to crucial.com to find your memory.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Unofficially, it should be fine.
     
  4. DeviledMoon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #4
    The macbook brand (white and black models, new and old) will support a MAX of 4GB of SO-DIMM Ram.

    while Pros can take up to 8GB
     
  5. JRoDDz macrumors 68000

    JRoDDz

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    And officially if it doesn't work, Apple wont' support you. :D
     

Share This Page