Upgrade to gtx980 from gtx680, black screen

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by JMVB, Jul 31, 2017.

  1. JMVB, Jul 31, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2017

    JMVB macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #1
    I had my Mac pro 5,1 with El Capitan, running smooth with a flashed GTX680 and the latest nvidia web driver

    I do an upgrade, sold the GTX680 and buy a EVGA GTX980, but now, I can't see any image

    I tried plugging in my old 5770 and sudo nvram boot-args="nv_disable=1", but the screen still black

    Hepl!
     
  2. JMVB, Jul 31, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017

    JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #2
    Follow up

    Did a fresh install in another hard drive, El capitan 10.11.4

    Didn't touch anything, just put sudo nvram boot-args="nv_disable=1" at first 5770 boot, shut down, put the GTX980, and nothing, black screen..

    I have to disable the SIP?

    The card work perfect in another pc with hackintosh
    And the hackintosh card, an gtx960, didn`t work in the mac pro neither

    Also, I changed the pci power cables for another new pair, no joy

    I installed the web drivers via shared screen, and no joy


    WTF?
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    No matter if it's required, I will try disable SIP anyway. Since most of us are actually running the cMP like a half Hackintosh, disable SIP in fact able to avoid lots of small issues.

    Anyway, AFAIK, unless you have an Mac EFI Nvidia card inside your cMP, nv_disable=1 won't do anything. It suppose to allow the EFI card run in unaccelerated mode, and let you install the web driver. With this argument, both the Apple and web driver won't load. In your case, which means black screen.

    If you have a 5770. Then all you need should be just install Nvidia web driver, and select in from the Nvidia control panel. Shut down, install the 980, then boot.
     
  4. JMVB, Jul 31, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017

    JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #4
    After the new power cables and after sudo nvram boot-args="nvda_drv=1" got image

    I don't know what was the problem... tomorrow I'll check it

    The odd thing is why if the GX680 was working fine, but the GTX980 won't with the same system...
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    680 is natively supported by OSX, 980 is not, that's a huge difference.

    By using the nvda_drv=1 argument, you enable the Nvidia web driver again, which is a requirement for the unflashed 980 to display anything.
     
  6. JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #6
    I mean, the former system had the nvidia web drivers installed...
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    But you enter the argument nv_disable=1 which actually disable all Nvidia driver. If you didn't do that step, most likely your 980 is plug and play, because web driver already installed and selected.
     
  8. JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #8
    At the very first install, I only removed my former GTX680 and didn't touch anything, just put the GTX980

    The system with the former GTX680 was 10.11.6 and the latest nvidia web and cuda drivers

    I write the arguments after that, when I got the black screen
     
  9. h9826790, Aug 1, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    I see. I misunderstood that. In that case, it should work, unless you was actually on Apple driver but you didn't realise. Anyway, it's now fixed, enjoy your 980 :D
     
  10. JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #10
    Yeah, did the long way
    I migrated the old system (SSD) to the new and functional installation 10.11.4 (HD).
    Then when all looks fine, I cloned it with superduper! to the SSD.
    Then, with the display sharing activated, I upgraded to 10.11.6 and installed the latest web drivers.

    Thanks for your help h9826790
     
  11. JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
  12. pierrox macrumors regular

    pierrox

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #12
    That's a pretty good score.
    I have a 980Ti and it's just above that, not massively. Almost disappointing! Or the CPU is the bottleneck?
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    His benchmarks runs at a custom resolution / setting with tessellation disabled, you have the exact same setting?
     
  14. pierrox macrumors regular

    pierrox

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #14
    I disabled it too. But for some reason it scales to a different resolution. Probably because my monitors are 16:9 aspect ratio and not 16:10.
     

Share This Page