Upgrade to iOS 6 with Option click UPDATE?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by RDowson, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. RDowson macrumors 6502

    RDowson

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #1
    I'm thinking about renewing my dev account and installing iOS 6.

    Can I upgrade to it using option click update?

    Or do I have to use option click restore? If so, I assume it'll restore my settings from an iOS 5 backup?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #2
    I upgraded with option-update instead of option-restore. Worked fine.
     
  3. RDowson thread starter macrumors 6502

    RDowson

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #3
    Thanks dude. Does it run ok not being a clean install?

    I like the idea of a clean install but I have so many settings and messages that I want to keep, it'll be a nightmare to start from scratch.
     
  4. koolmagicguy macrumors 6502

    koolmagicguy

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    I updated using Option - Update yesterday. Working fine.
     
  5. MadGoat macrumors 65816

    MadGoat

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    I updated as well.. only issue is that my music (iTunes Match) vanished but was still taking up room in memory.

    Erased the contents of Music (from the usage settings) all is well now.
     

Share This Page