Upgrade to rMBP: Too much for a software dev?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by grrtt, Nov 14, 2013.

1. grrtt, Nov 14, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2013

grrtt macrumors newbie

grrtt

Hello! I've had my Late-2008 Aluminum MacBook since it was launched and I have loved this machine dearly. Unfortunately, it's age is starting to show. The battery is now at 50% health and dropping, I've been getting weird reboot loops and occasional kernel panics for no apparent reason. I adore this MacBook for the single reason that I was able to remove the optical and add in a second drive. I upgraded it to SSD which kicked the speed up and pushed it to 8GB of RAM. While it keeps up with most of my applications, it seems to lag in what I do most often: VMs. I'm a computer science student and find myself having to switch between Mac, Linux, and Windows frequently throughout the day.

TL;DR: Old MacBook: upgraded it to the max, dying battery, crashy, kinda pokey.

I've been eyeing over the new 15in Retina MacBook Pro (not BTO, but the second tier 15inch model). It seems ideal with the quad core and RAM size for virtualization.

I'm just wondering if it's a bit overkill for my uses:
    - VMs for classes
    - Web development for my job
    - Some light graphics work in CS6
    - Guild Wars 2 and Source Engine games
    - Software development
    - iPhoto and iMovie

The most applications in multitasking I am able to do are iTunes, Safari, Mail, and one of those tasks above without the machine going down to a crawl. I would like do more than that if I could. It seems like the rMBP is geared towards professionals (hence the name) but would it be suitable for a "professional" software developer after I graduate from university?