Upgrade to Solid State Drive

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by naquadah1, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. naquadah1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #1
    I just got a 15.4" Macbook Pro (MB470LL/A), and i been thinking about putting a Solid State Drive in at some point. But i was wondering how i would find out the spec of the hard drive so that i know which drive would fit in the notebook.
     
  2. bbadalucco macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #2
    I'm pretty sure they are 2.5 so they should all fit in the UMBP
     
  3. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Almost all of the SSDs will fit. You need a 2.5" laptop sized SSD, which most are. You also need them to be SATA.

    Also, some drives are 12.5mm high - Apple laptops need 9.5mm drives.

    But most SSDs will meet that characteristic.
     
  4. xoggyux macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #4
    there is little chances of buying the wrong one since most of them are 2.5" (laptop standard) and SATA (all modern laptops standard) so unless you buy a very problematic one (In which case you would realize before buying since the rating would say something about) you will be fine.

    Check my thread on the standard 128GB G.Skill:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=661948&highlight=ssd+128gb+skill
    Despite being far from being the best (in which case you would want to take a look at samsung and intel's and be prepared to spend $700++), is definitively the one of the best value for your money with about 128Gb for $220.
     
  5. jazz1 macrumors 65816

    jazz1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Mid-West USA
    #5
    80 GB Intel SSB Enough Space?

    I may have access to an 80GB Intel SSD. How much space would a slimmed down OSX take on a MacPro late 2008 uni-body? Probably not practical, but I can play with one for free for a while. It would be fun to hotrod.
     
  6. naquadah1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #6
    i find there are SATA and SATA II, are the pins the same between the 2? i haven't used any SATA drives personally so i am not sure. because i want to know is would SATAII work ok.
     

Share This Page