Upgraded 2017 13 inch nTB MBP vs base 2015 15 inch MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ipeemyself, Jul 16, 2017.

?

Upgraded 2017 13 inch nTB MBP vs base 2015 15 inch MBP

  1. 2017 13 inch nTB MBP - 16gb RAM, 512gb SSD, base i5 CPU

    75.0%
  2. 2015 15 inch MBP - 16gb RAM, 256gb SSD, base i7 CPU, Iris pro graphics

    25.0%
  1. ipeemyself macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    #1
    Hello! I'm going to university next year and am debating between a 2017 13 inch nTB MBP with 16gb RAM and 512gb SSD, and the base model 2015 15 inch MBP (no dedicated GPU). I'm mainly going to be using this computer for Android Dev, AutoCAD, and Matlab. One concern I have with the 2015 model is how future proof it is going to be. Do you guys think these computer can last for another 5 years? Also, how is the portability with the 2015 15 inch? Is it portable enough to carry to class every day with a bag full of binders and textbooks? Which model should I go with and why?
     
  2. irock101 macrumors 6502

    irock101

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #2
    2017 15" - not the 13" - thank me later if you're doing Android Dev, AutoCad (you want a dedicated GPU and a bigger screen!)
     
  3. ipeemyself thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    #3
    I can't afford 2017 inch 15" in my budget :(. Would you recommend the 2015 15"? I might be able to scrap up a bit more money for a refurbished 2016 15" but am hesitant cause of all the keyboard issues on that model.
     
  4. irock101 macrumors 6502

    irock101

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #4
    The one I have in my signature which is the Mid 2015 rMBP, just had a battery replacement for around $100 done and is like a brand new machine. I can't notice any difference in day to day use compared to the latest 2017 macbooks besides the missing touchbar, which is not practical at all.

    Download the 'Alfred' app and you won't need a touchbar..
     
  5. ipeemyself thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    #5
    The 2015 one I'm looking at is the base one without the AMD graphics. Will the Iris GPU suffice? Also, do you think the 2015 model can last at least another 5 years?
     
  6. ZapNZs macrumors 68000

    ZapNZs

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #6
    Is the refurbished 2015 with the dGPU an option? The 2.5 GHz model with a 512 SSD and discrete GPU in the refurbished flavor is priced slightly lower than the new 2.2/256SSD/iGPU. (You might have to play the waiting game a little and check the website often.)
     
  7. ipeemyself thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    #7
    Unfortunately that's not an option. Apple only offers the base 2015 15". Is the graphics that important?
     
  8. ZapNZs macrumors 68000

    ZapNZs

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    #8
    Considering it is twice the hard drive size, a not-insignificant boost in processing power, and significantly more graphics capability, to me it is.

    I often forget the Apple-direct refurbs are not available everywhere. Are you outside of the US?
     
  9. ipeemyself thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2017
    #9
    Yep, I'm in Canada. What do you think of the 2017 nTB? Do you think it could run AutoCAD Smoothly? I'm probably going to hook it up to an external monitor, so the screen size shouldn't be an issue
     
  10. Jamalogo10 macrumors member

    Jamalogo10

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2017
    #10
    My advice: Bump up the 2017 nTB from i5 to an i7 to allow hyperthreading. For some reason people are seeing huge gains roughly 10% over the i5. Myself included. If you don't want to do that I would go on https://www.bhphotovideo.com to see if they have a 2015 15in with a dgpu. Remember to use an educational discount. It'll save you 100-200.

    On a side side note I heard apple is going to release external powerful gpu's in the next couple of months to a year. Buy a dongle with an additional USB-C port for the 13in, that way you can have the external gpu hooked up, the charger plugged in and a monitor.
     
  11. jdechko macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #11
    Sorry, you don't need a dGPU just to run AutoCAD. It depends on whether or not you're doing 2D vs 3D CAD. AutoCAD LT 2017 (limited to 2D only) will happily run on a mid-2010 13" Pro.
     
  12. pallymore macrumors member

    pallymore

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #12
    I think you will be fine with the 13inch.
    The CPU is not bad, 16G RAM and 512SSD will go a long way.
     

Share This Page