Upgraded Mac Pro problems still....

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Pjotr28, Nov 14, 2013.

  1. Pjotr28 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    Hi, I all ready posted a few times here with my Mac Pro problems. Last time now before I bring my 2009 Mac Pro back to how it was.

    I have problems after the firmware update to 5.1 using W3680 and a GTX 680 Mac Edition. With he GTX 680 I have random shut downs and screen freezes. PCI fan is around 1200. With the stock 4870 fans are okay but rarely I have a screen freeze, still can acces the mac via ethernet. I still use the stock 1066mhz ram. I ran Mountain Lion now Mavericks

    So before I reswap the CPU and bring back things as it was what I did:
    - Ran AHT no prob
    - Ran ASD no problem (although the EFI version told me that PCI fan speed was around 1150 should be around 800 I think?)
    - Exchanged the GTX 680 with a new one from EVGA
    - Reinstalled OS X Mavericks on a complete new drive, took out all other drives and cards (still having problems)
    - Replaced the internal battery
    - SMC NVRAM resets
    - Re-installed the CPU with new thermal paste (although temps in the mac seem normal)


    Well I think i did almost anything I can think of. So what to do? Would a reflash of the firmware do any good or any other ideas.

    TIA
     
  2. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Weymouth, UK
    #2
    When you exchanged the 680 - did you exchange both of the 6-pin power cables or are you using the originals? Just thinking it could be a power to the GPU issue.
     
  3. Pjotr28, Nov 14, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2013

    Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #3
    Thanks,

    Yep I exchanged the cables... I have another pair will try those.
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    The fan problem is often fixed by moving the graphics card to slot 2.

    I don't know about the random shut down and screen freezes. Are there kernal panics? If so, you could check the logs.

    I would also do a memtest86 from a boot CD because RAM that's gone bad causes problems like this. I know you did AHT, but bad RAM frequently passes AHT but can be caught by memtest. Even if you don't think it's the memory, it will be nice to rule it out.
     
  5. Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    Did a memtest but will try that again. I moved the card from slot 1 to 2 and vice versa. It's now back in 1 (with new power cables) Strange thing that when I run OpenGl Extension Viewer with card in slot 1 it speeds up from 1400 to around 2000 after the test fan speed slows down to 800.

    That sounds great but I had another system freeze a few minutes ago. Just using Safari and FCPX was open.

    There are logs from earlier crashes. But I did a complete new install on another drive the same problem occurred, so I doubt that the crashes are caused by third party extensions.

    Thanks
     
  6. Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #6
    And a new crash running memtest and surfing the web. Now with crash log:

     
  7. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    Just for the heck of it, pull out that 2GB DIMM and see if that makes a difference.
     
  8. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #8
    Are you using web drivers? Try using the standard drivers included with OS X.
     
  9. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #9
    He isn't using web drivers, so he may as well try.
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10
    You need to run memtest from a bootable CD or it cannot test the area used by the OS itself, which I assume is exactly the area that would cause OS crashes:

    "This application requires the Mac is booted from a CD or USB device using an .iso image downloaded from the developers website. Not booting up the entire operating system allows the memory test to access the full memory of the Mac instead of just the unused portion as the case with other tools."

    If you have enough RAM, a simpler method is to pull half of it out and run for a while on that half. Then switch to the other half.

    Also, I forgot to mention the obvious, but make sure everything is seating properly in case you knocked a DIMM, cable, or something else out place while you were in there upgrading.
     
  11. Gav Mack, Nov 14, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2013

    Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #11
    Apart from memory tests - can of compressed air and blow out everything. Also if you have access to a proper air line using short sharp bursts blow every single bit of dust and crap out of the PSU too, baffle the grille with a towel. Used to work very well with the PowerMac PSU and stop that stupid design blowing up. I've had a 5,1 stop misbehaving after doing it after we'd tried everything else.
     
  12. Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
  13. Mac Moof macrumors newbie

    Mac Moof

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #13
    Well hopefully it won't be the GTX 680 as I have a Mac Pro 2009 with a EVGA GTX 680 which I am just about to upgrade to the 5.1 firmware and a W3680.

    So I will find out very shortly if there is am issue with this setup. I will try just upgrading the firmware with the GTX 680. And see if it is a conflict between those two or if the CPU is causing the problem.

    Good luck.
     
  14. echoout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #14
    No problem with 680s after the 5,1 flash.
     
  15. Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #15
    That's good to hear. Did you also did the cpu upgrade? What kind? Do you also use the old 1066 ram?
     
  16. ofawx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    #16
    I did this very upgrade a couple months ago, and due to receiving bits from all different suppliers at different time I did it incrementally: first the GTX680, flashed to EFI using bootcamp once it was verified working. CPU arrived second, upgraded firmware and installed, no problems (using original 1066MHz RAM). Last was 24GB RAM from OWC, one stick initially failed to appear at all but cleaned the contacts and then worked fine.

    That said, it sounds like its the GTX680 giving you problems - does using the 4870 prevent the issue?
     
  17. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #17
    Your KP log points on crashing Nvidia drivers. But you're also getting screen freezes with 4870 on clean OS install, different HDD etc. This would indicate other hardware problem. Is there something unusual logged (e.g. OpenGL error) in system.log in time of screen freeze with 4870?

    I have very similar setup as you do: 4,1 flashed to 5,1 + W3680. I've used it with 1066 memory + flashed 680 without single hiccup.

    Try your old CPU and 4870, but I doubt that it would change anything. Post results.
     
  18. Mac Moof, Nov 16, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2013

    Mac Moof macrumors newbie

    Mac Moof

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #18
    I have just upgraded my 2009 2.93Ghz Mac Pro (with a EVGA GTX 680 Mac Edition) to the 2010 firmware and after running Geekbench, Heaven and standard everyday stuff (Safari, Mail etc) everything seems to be fine.

    So it does not look like a hardware conflict. Although i am only using Mac OS 10.8.5 not Mavericks. I use the standard Mac OS display drivers so no nvidia stuff, if that makes any difference?? I will be upgrading the CPU this weekend to a W3680 so we will see what that brings.

    Not sure this helps, but hopefully it narrows down the possibilities.

    UPDATE: Just completed the CPU upgrade. Carried put a quick test of Geekbench and Heaven and basic usage (again) and all seems normal. So it sounds like some other hardware issue. Maybe as other suggested RAM or possibly dodgy CPU???
     
  19. Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #19
    Short update:

    Tested the machine with 2gb ram sticks and vice versa removed. Still problems. Replaced the CPU with the original one and for two days no crashes at all. I will let it run for a few days more and than try it again with the W3680. Found an Intel CPU test to run in bootcamp. Before swapping again could it harm to clean the W3680 connection with some alcohol?
     
  20. Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #20
    Update:

    Swapped the cpu again to the six core. First day no problem. After a bit of work in FPC X again sudden deaths. As I have to finish some stories I decided to put in the old 4870. Worked with it for two days. No crashes at all. Also the overall fan noise is lower.

    So my conclusion. The CPU is ok cause I can work with the old card with no prob. The GTX is ok to cause I got a new one from EVGA and I can work with it with the old CPU.
    The combination GTX 680 with the W3680 is the bottleneck but why? I already did a complete reinstall. Perhaps I'll try that again. Or could it be that the 5.1 firmware update went wrong?
     
  21. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #21
    The TDP and power consumption for the combination of the 680 and the W3680 is higher than all the others. Swapping out the PSU to check if that's the culprit? Unplug, blow out and replug all the power connectors to the logic board.

    If you've replaced thermal paste a lot are you using the artic silver cleaner purifier combination then reapplying fresh paste? Artic silvers website have videos showing the right method to apply it properly and with the hex core doing it absolutely right may help, though I suspect it's power related far more.

    Reflash 5,1 with the ati card installed perhaps.

    Stumped for other options other than changing the logic board after that but it is almost time to hit the sack here...
     
  22. Mac Moof macrumors newbie

    Mac Moof

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #22
    Hmmmmm that is strange. Both the new CPU and GPU are within the Mac Pro's power envelope but as Gav says maybe the PSU is struggling to power both at the same time. Although I was sure that the 2009 CPUs had the same power draw as the w3680??

    I have exactly the same setup as you and have had none if these issues, even trying to dress test the machine.

    What slot is the GTX 680 in? Mine is in slot 1 and I know people have had fan issues if it is in slot 2 which might be an issue??
     
  23. Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #23
    Hi,

    GTX is giving problems in both slot 1 and 2. The fans blow a bit more in slot 2. I've already cleaned the PSU by removing it from the machine. I will try to fiddle around with the cables.

    I also think it's PSU related. But strange thing is that the errors occur randomly. For example surfing with Safari I can get a crash. But a CPU stresstest and Heaven running at the same time gave no problems.

    Do you guys know if the sapphire mac card draws less power? Perhaps I have to try that one I really like the speed bump with the new CPU and GPU except from the crashes...
     
  24. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #24
    I don't think looking for a video card that draws less power is the solution. The power supply in the Mac Pro should be more than sufficient in driving that CPU and that video card. If it does indeed turn out to be the power supply, replacing/repairing it would be the proper course of action.
     
  25. Pjotr28 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #25
    Could be, but one thing perhaps to mention. Sometimes the restarts are sudden. Sometimes audio keeps playing, I can move the mouse but can't click. If the PSU is malfunctioninging you would expect that there are only complete shutdowns or not?
     

Share This Page