Upgraded to a new iMac,have some trouble after using time machine

Discussion in 'iMac' started by igilphoto, Apr 15, 2019.

  1. igilphoto macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #1
    Hi good afternoon ,
    I just migrated my data using time machine from my old mac to a new one .Everything went fine and I preferred not to do clean install in order to keep my workflow ,so I have just manually deleted most of the things and programs I didn't needed before backing up and migrating to a the new machine .

    But now and then pops up a small message from different "apps" like in the screenshot I have attached .
    Most of the names don't make much sense to me so I don't know how to make it go away .

    Does this happened to anyone else ? Is there a way I can fix/delete all the things that make this happen ?

    I upgraded from an old 2011 mac so I believe that is why I receive this messages - the huge difference in os .

    Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #2
    Yes, that can happen. Its pretty self explanatory. You need to find the apps and delete them then install an updated version assuming you still need them.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    OP --

    If you wish, just click "OK" to dismiss those warnings for now.

    They are pretty much nothing more than... "warnings".

    All the older apps you have WILL STILL RUN -- for now.

    This is in anticipation of OS 10.15, which will arrive later this year.
    10.15 -will not- run 32 bit apps.
    But -- FOR NOW -- they'll pretty much continue to work just fine.
     
  4. mikehalloran macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #4
    This is not an error. Mojave will display it the first time you run any 32 bit app — even if run by the OS automatically.

    Some apps and processes are still 32 bit. If from Apple and necessary for operation, they will be updated to 64 bit as part of OS 10.15.

    If not from Apple and not updated, they won't work when that time comes. I have a couple of necessary pro apps in that category. One company has annoyed its Mac user base by releasing a 64 bit version for Windows already — but has promised the Mac version in a month or two or three... The other company has released its first 64 bit version for iOS and has promised an update before September. We'll see...

    I try to avoid shareware and most freeware so the 32/64 issue doesn't really bother me except for the two examples I've mentioned.

    It's nothing like what Apple did to the user base with Claris/AppleWork during the OS 9/X transition. Although the crowd-source LibreOffice can open the word processing files going back to MacWrite, the draw/paint modules are a different story which is why I still keep a functioning G4 running OS 9 in my office.
     
  5. igilphoto thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    #5
    Thank you all for explaining this to me ,I was on a older os so didn't encountered this before .

    I think most of this is from apps I don't really use or just can download again so I will try to find the files and delete them - just could find them at first .
    I was worried I transferred something bad from my old iMac
     
  6. nambuccaheadsau, Apr 15, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2019

    nambuccaheadsau macrumors 68000

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #6
  7. smoking monkey macrumors 65816

    smoking monkey

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    You Only Live Twice
    #7
    Oh yeah. that was painful! I had hundreds of drawing docs! It took me months to redo them in pages. I'm still snarky with Apple over this! But in the end it was for the better because Pages is a superior and more efficient program for my workflow.
     
  8. briloronmacrumo macrumors 6502

    briloronmacrumo

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Might want to check the list of 32-bit apps in "About this Mac/System Report". Better: Get Howard Oakley's 32-bitCheck app that drills down to show you all the 32-bit code.
     
  9. mikehalloran macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2018
    Location:
    The Sillie Con Valley
    #9
    Or just go to About This Mac and click on Applications.

    The only info you will gather is how many apps and processes are still 32 bit.
     

Share This Page