Upgrades. More than HDD and RAM

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Mobius 1, May 12, 2011.

  1. Mobius 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #1
    It looks like the 13" macbook pro w/unibody 2009 connection slot is identical to the 2011's.

    can i just buy a 2011 i7 Logic board and mount it on my OLD mbp?

    coz that's cheaper than getting a whole new laptop

    (btw warranty's out, didn't register for applecare)



    can it be done?
     
  2. HBOC macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    SLC
    #3
    That would cost more than the effort is worth, plus there would be no warranty.
     
  3. Mobius 1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
    #4
    D:

    but isn't the internal the same?

    ports, sockets etc?
     
  4. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #5
    Maybe, maybe not. Only way to find out is to try. Are you willing to shell out $400+ bucks for a maybe?
     
  5. acedickson macrumors 6502a

    acedickson

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    ATL
    #6
    Do it, record it, post it.
     
  6. ViviUO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #7
    I honestly don't see any technical reasons why you can't.

    If you have the cash to try it, do it. Ignore the ones who are too scared to try/have no technical backing as to why you shouldn't.
     
  7. dslrjunky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #8
    +1
    On these do it if you have the cash..
     
  8. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #9
    You probably don't see any technical reasons why you can't create a perpetual motion machine, either...but that doesn't mean it's possible.

    Here are two very simple reasons why this idea won't work:

    1) The logic board mounting screws are not in the same locations.
    2) The connector sockets are not in the same locations.

    I find it comical that those who think it is possible and the OP should "go for it" are basing this off of either optimism or the coincidence that the "connection slot is identical"- whatever that means. If you have the cash lying around to throw at a problem like this, just buy a new computer.
     
  9. ender land macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    #10

    Good luck using all the ports on the side.
     
  10. acedickson macrumors 6502a

    acedickson

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    ATL
    #11
    The ports are in the same order on the side, and look to have the same amount of space between each, but may not line up when the logic board is installed.
     
  11. vincenz macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #12
    Unless all the screws are in the exact same places inside, I doubt that would work as I'm willing to bet that little things have changed over the past 2 years. If you're willing to take the chance though, go for it, dont let anyone tell you otherwise. I'd consult lengthily with a hardware technician though if I were you. Maybe find someone patient enough at ifixit to see if it's even possible.
     

Share This Page