Upgrading 1st Gen Mac Pro from Tiger to Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by puma00799, Feb 16, 2011.

  1. puma00799 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #1
    Hello. I don't have much knowledge Macs but I do need to finally upgrade from Tiger to Snow Leopard video and photo editing purposes. My 1st generation Intel mac pro desktop 4-core has 6G of Ram and plenty of hard drive space as I edit HD video footage. My question is will any full version of Snow Leopard (not a recovery DVD) install properly? All the threads and questions that I see out there seem to all be for Macbook Pros. I have an old version of Final Cut Studio 2 which is fine for me at this time but I wasn't sure if it would be compatible with Snow Leopard. Also, is it worth it for me to keep upgrading my system or should I be looking at getting a new Mac? Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading!
     
  2. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    OS 10.6 and FCS2 will install correctly. There seem to be some that had problems when they did not do a fresh installation though, so your best bet would be to back up your boot drive, format it and start from scratch. I don't even think the retail 10.6 disk will allow a simple upgrade all the way from Tiger.

    [edit] You will see significant improvements if you upgrade to a Mac Pro hexacore at 3,33 GHz for example, but as it seems you are getting by with your current machine, only you can decide if you want to upgrade and if it is worth the cost.
     
  3. puma00799 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #3
    Thank you for your input. That really helps! I seem to be alright at the moment. The one problem that I am experiencing with final cut is when I change the speed of a video. I think that it might be because of my video card, which is a 256 MB GeForce 7300 GT.
     
  4. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    As far as I know, changing the speed of a clip is more dependent on processor than graphics card, and this is one of the areas you could benefit from a new machine.
     
  5. Daud macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #5
    ..or upgrading to 5160 3GHz processor for ca $70 outlay. Also consider a small (=less $) SSD disk like the $150 OWC 60GB one as a startup/application disk and your previous HDD for data. This lifted my Geekbench score to 6250. You can still push some life from your Mac PRO. Also a PC ATI 5770 card flashed to Mac ($120?)would not hurt either..
     
  6. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    That will give it more legs for a very reasonable cost !
     

Share This Page