Upgrading 2010 CPU but I may have been sent wrong CPU!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by machenryr, Feb 1, 2016.

  1. machenryr macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #1
    Man, I've had a lot of eBay and Amazon miss orders lately. Some has been me but this wasn't. My Mac Pro is 2010 2.8ghz 5,1. I purchased X5690 but I GOT Xeon X5698. It clicks at 4.4 not 3.46. That would be great but will it work?????
     
  2. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #3
    My mistake. Eyes bad I guess. It's X5690 after all. Sheesh. The small line across the zero that was small confused me. It wasn't until I took a photo and enlarged it that I could tell. It states 3.46.
     
  3. machenryr thread starter macrumors regular

    machenryr

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    #4
    It's all done. Whew. I have two Mac Pro's to do. The other CPU hasn't arrived yet. The next one is a Nehalem 4,1 quad 2.66 ghz. I have a W3090 that should arrive in the next day or two. Now I know how to do it I'm looking forward to it. That'll bring it also up to 5,1 after firmware update and 3.46.
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    For a brief moment you got my hopes up. :eek:
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    If he really get the 5698 (non ES), then he should be really lucky, I think that CPU is much more expensive than the 5690.
     

Share This Page