iPhone Upgrading 3GS, error 1600

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by heyitsejohn, May 26, 2013.

  1. heyitsejohn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #1
    Okay so I got a 3GS off of Craigslist for my girlfriend. It was jailbroken, activated, and unlocked, but running way back on 4.0. Everything working - tested it extensively. Now my girlfriend erased all content and settings so now it's stuck on Apple logo. Read up, saw that the latest untethered JB is on 6.1.2 so I decided to work with that instead of the latest 6.1.3. So I downloaded a stock build, built a custom IPSW via Sn0wbreeze (used her computer, I'm on a Mac), and made sure to check the bootrom (it was on the new one). Then I ran TinyUmbrella on my Mac, set the hosts to check back to Cydia, and tried restoring to my custom build. No dice. Getting error 1600. Tried multiple computers and multiple USB cables (all original) and multiple ports, still error 1600. Any help?
     
  2. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    You cannot restore to 6.1.2 without complete blobs. Does it happen to have iOS 5.1.1 blobs? If not, you will have to restore to 6.1.3 and get a tethered jailbreak (I assume it was software unlocked)

    However, the option to restore to iOS 4.1 and get an untethered jailbreak is still there as apple is still signing for the firmware for some reason (point to apple's sever if you're restoring to 4.1, just use a stock ipsw unless you need the device hackitvated)

    Edit: for all firmwares iOS 5+, you need to point it to apple's server and remember, you need SHSH blobs!
     
  3. heyitsejohn, May 26, 2013
    Last edited: May 26, 2013

    heyitsejohn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #3
    Okay blobs are something I'm not so familiar with. I understand that it's something you back up from your phone before flashing. Is this phone specific or can I download generic ones?

    Edit: okay I read up on them some and I guess the answer is no. So does that mean my options are either to run 4.1 untethered or 6.1.3 tethered? No in between? Next question: if I decide to go tethered, how will that affect my unlock?
     
  4. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #4
    It's specific as you may have found

    Download iFaith (PC ONLY) and plug in the iPhone and check the server cache for SHSH blobs. Once found, download all of them. Check and see what COMPLETE (iOS 6 ones may or may not be complete, depends on how knowledgeable the previous owner was) SHSH blobs cydia has for you.

    Report back on what iFaith says. Screenshot could work too

    Depending on what iFaith turns out, your option may only be untethered 4.1 or tethered 6.1.3

    whenever you do a restore, ALWAYS make a no baseband custom firmware. If you already restored without making a no baseband custom firmware, you may have destroyed your chances to have the phone software unlocked again

    With that said, what is the baseband of the device? I believe you can use redsn0w to check if you can't get to the home screen

    Going tethered will not affect the unlock. It's just if the device turns off, runs out of battery, crashes, reboots (when installing tweaks or user actions), you need a computer to use the phone again. I think resprings are fine though. I haven't heard much about the semi-tether but if it still works, it essentially allows you to use the most basic apps should the device turn off for some reason. I know the phone app will work for sure, not sure what else will work. You can look up semi-tether if you plan to go to this tether 6.1.3 route
     
  5. heyitsejohn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #5
    will do as suggested.

    re: SHSH blobs, will they be present in the phone, given that it's coming from iOS 4.0?

    I haven't restored to anything above 4.0 (at least, nothing that flashed successfully).

    get back to you as soon as done. don't have access to a Windows machine right now.
     
  6. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #6
    SHSH blobs are from apple's server. You can use tinyumbrella (Mac compatible) and retrieve SHSH blobs but the reason I told you to use iFaith is because that's the only program other than cydia that can properly check if iOS 6 blobs are complete

    If tiny umbrella reports back with iOS 5 blobs (preferably 5.1.1), then you can restore to that version. And please do report back the baseband version as well
     
  7. heyitsejohn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
  8. heyitsejohn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #8
    Okay haven't been able to get to a Windows machine yet so no updates on SHSH blobs as I can't run iFaith. Did get the phone up and running though through redsn0w. It's on 4.1 untethered now, baseband is 6.15, new bootrom. Is there anyway I can check the SHSH blobs from within the phone itself without using iFaith?
     
  9. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #9
    As said above, you can use tinyumbrella to check for iOS 5 and under SHSH blobs (iOS 6 can be checked for too but there's no way to verify if they're complete or not).. On the device itself, if jailbroken, you can open cydia and click TSS center which will show all complete blobs

    Use redsn0w to downgrade the iPad baseband (6.15.00) as that bb is known to cause problems
     
  10. heyitsejohn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #10
    okay TSS center on Cydia gives me 4.1 and 6.1.3 only. TinyUmbrella gives me 4.1, 6.0.1, 6.1.2, and 6.1.3 but I'm guessing these aren't complete.

    4.1 is too limited, so I guess a tethered 6.1.3 is my only option?
     
  11. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #11
    Yep, 6.0.1 and 6.1.2 are incomplete blobs. Your only option right now is tethered 6.1.3 if you don't want 4.1. That's a shame, I was hoping cydia would have 5.1.1 blobs but I guess the previous user only used it purely for unlocking and didn't mess with any other jailbreaking stuff
     
  12. heyitsejohn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    #12
    Yeah seems that way. Okay now my problem seems to be that I can't get past the waiting for reboot phase on redsn0w. Any advice?
     

Share This Page