Upgrading 5,1 2010 quad core to 12 core?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Netherscurial, Aug 28, 2016.

  1. Netherscurial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    #1
    Hell I found a Mac pro 5,1 2010 2.8 quad core for fairly cheap on craigslist and I was wondering the cheapest ways to upgrade this unit to a 12 core unit, preferably to 2 3.46cpus. It has one tray but I know you can replace it with dual trays/heatsinks, right?

    Like this one on ebay? http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mac-Pro-12-...180168?hash=item2ef36814c8:g:cpcAAOSwnFZXVped

    Is there a place I can get just the dual 12 core tray and buy the cpu separately so it will be cheaper?

    THanks
     
  2. pastrychef, Aug 28, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2016

    pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #2
    Wow. $1260 is insanely expensive.

    Other than Ebay, i don't think you'll be able to find a tray for cheap. Be careful and make sure that your machine is actually a real 5,1 and not a flashed 4,1. Trays for 4,1 and 5,1 are not interchangeable.
     
  3. BillyBobBongo, Aug 28, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2016

    BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #3
    I'd be inclined to go out and buy a dual CPU Mac Pro 5,1, strip all your components out of the other, and the sell the single CPU model.

    I considered doing this with my 2009 4,1 a few years back, but the prices were stupid back then too.

    The other thing you need to consider is do you actually need a 12 core Mac Pro. Would a six core not suffice? Obviously I don't know your workflow, so only you can really answer that question.
     
  4. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #5
  5. Netherscurial thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    #6
    THanks all,

    I am an artist so I want to get the fastest and the most ram, planning on maxing out ram to 128gb.

    Anywhere I can get cheaper 16gb modules other than OWC?

    Yea I looked OWC for the tray and they are crazy expensive.

    What's the going price for a tray on ebay?

    Kevin
    --- Post Merged, Aug 29, 2016 ---

    I do alot of photography.My brother got a similar mazed out machine and he said it works perfect for photography.
     

Share This Page