Upgrading a CoreDuo mac to Lion.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by macspam, Apr 25, 2011.

  1. macspam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #1
    How could I skip the processor verify in order to install the new Lion beta in a CoreDuo MacBook 1,1.

    :apple: Hardware specs: 160 Gb., CoreDuo 2 Ghz, 2 Gb RAM.
    Any help will be much appreciated!

    By the way: I do not have another mac with a Core2Duo -or later- processor.

    Thanks
     
  2. emiljan macrumors 6502

    emiljan

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    You can't. Lion checks the CPU to make sure its 64bit.
     
  3. macspam thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #4
    Hi, thanks.
    Maybe it is possible to make a firmware update. It is just to put a "2" between "Core" and "Duo"
     
  4. macspam thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #5
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    That link is about the Core Duo, not the Core 2 Duo. I would suspect that come release, it will no longer be possible.
     
  6. macspam thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    #7
    You are right. However, it is also a "known issue". So, lets hope Apple make Lion a CoreDuo compatible OS.
     
  7. gvollant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    #8
    there is two point for Lion GM:
    1) install a Lion on a Core Duo Mac. This will be near impossible to have a really usable system, because some component (finder?) are 64 bits
    2) better : install Lion after replacing the core duo processor by a core 2 duo which is pin compatible. This need remove some computer id checking in setup (or use target firewire mode from another mac), boot.efi and, pehaps, kernel
     

Share This Page